review · YA-fantasy

The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

Synopsis:

Could you survive on your own, in the wild, with every one out to make sure you don’t live to see the morning?

In the ruins of a place once known as North America lies the nation of Panem, a shining Capitol surrounded by twelve outlying districts. The Capitol is harsh and cruel and keeps the districts in line by forcing them all to send one boy and one girl between the ages of twelve and eighteen to participate in the annual Hunger Games, a fight to the death on live TV.

Sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen, who lives alone with her mother and younger sister, regards it as a death sentence when she steps forward to take her sister’s place in the Games. But Katniss has been close to dead before—and survival, for her, is second nature. Without really meaning to, she becomes a contender. But if she is to win, she will have to start making choices that will weigh survival against humanity and life against love

My Review:

Honestly, what could I say about this book that has not already been said? What superlatives have been left for me to attach to it? I hesitated about reading this book (firstly, the reading queue at the library was like a bajillion people long and secondly, dystopia? Me?) but then I straightened my shoulders, took a deep breath and took the plunge. And oh boy, did I ever fall. I was swept away (off my feet, on my bottom) and it was a rush (which usually requires at least one bottle of pop to otherwise achieve) that I started reading and didn’t finish until four hours later when I sadly read the last page. The characters, the plot, the dynamics – I’m going to end up writing a panegyric to this. It was that good, you guys. I recommended to all my bookish friends and talked about it until I was told to shut up. It wasn’t perfect, mind you. The ambiguity of her feelings made me annoyed but I can sit on that and make it work. And you know what the best thing is, I have the sequel to glomp too. Oh right, am I supposed to actually review the book instead of talking about how wonderful it was? Well, the writing was superb, the alternate world was very well created. Thought out and thought provoking. And it was more than just a superficial adventure (thrilling though it was) – there are certain depths to the story that ring sinisterly close to reality and make the reader very uncomfortable. Like our attitudes to food, our materialism and our general shallowness. And that, my darlings, is the mark of a great writer. Someone who can nudge you into questioning your own self without making it sound like a sermon. Read it!

6 thoughts on “The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins

  1. This is going to sound crazy, I know, but no matter how many times I pick up this book, I cannot seem to fully immerse myself in it. I’ve re-read the first 2-3 chapters several times now, and I’m always left feeling as if I need something more, but can’t pinpoint what, exactly.

    Then I come across yet another great, positive review (like this one) and I feel as though I should just pick up the book again without permitting myself to put it down, in hopes that I’ll experience what everyone else loves about it. It’s a torn decision.

    Like

    1. It’s not weird at all. The reason I took a longer time to read it is because of that same hesitation. But sometimes things either appeal to you or they don’t, no matter how much other people may like it. I’m having trouble with the second book now because I know it’s ending is not as I wanted it to be but I plod along. Like it’s one of those books you have to read for a class (I think Vanity Fair, blergh) and grit my teeth and do it. Well, of course, it doesn’t make sense if you have to grit your teeth for something that’s supposed to be fun, eh? But either ways, maybe if you try it again, you’ll like it better?

      Like

      1. Yes, it’s exactly like that. Like a book for a class. Except with this, I don’t have to read it, I just feel as though I should. I think it’s because I’m neither entirely against reading it, nor entirely wanting to read it. I’m caught in the middle. It’s one of those, “I’ll get around to it when I get around to it” kind of things.

        Like

Leave a Reply

