Dragons · favourites · review · YA-fantasy

Eon: Dragon Eye Reborn (Eon #1) – Alison Goodman

536 pages
Published December 26th, 2008 by Viking Juvenile

Synopsis:

Eon has been studying the ancient art of Dragon Magic for four years, hoping he’ll be able to apprentice to one of the twelve energy dragons of good fortune. But he also has a dark secret. He is actually Eona, a sixteen-year-old girl who has been living a dangerous lie for the chance to become a Dragoneye, the human link to an energy dragon’s power. It is forbidden for females to practice the Dragon Magic and if discovered Eon faces a terrible death.

Review

I have been extremely fortunate this year where books and my choices are concerned. As Eon proved, I’m kind of a genius in choosing brilliant books to read. Heh. So. How should I start a review of this? Okay, move on to the next paragraph now and we will, in all utter seriousness, begin a review. Honest.

Brilliant. Amazing. Attach what superlative, you may, I believe this book will prove itself worthy for it – for them? The awards this book has received is proof enough of the world’s reaction to the novel and, for once, I am happy to say I totally agree with the verdict. I know that in a market filled with sparkles and elves which are set in the contemporary world, real fantasy sometimes gets drowned out by the chanting of fan girls’ voices as they attempt to hypnotize the Sparkler with their voices. Wow, convoluted sentence, but you get what I mean. Eon is a true fantasy in the sense that it is set in a world which, while it parallels our own, is most certainly different from the earth we live on. (I like that.) It conflates certain cultures (it has some Asian influences and, if I’m not mistaken, some middle eastern ones) to create a culture, a society that is uniquely its own.  And situated within this culture, within this world is Eon.

There are many heroines out there, some more likable than the others but each one of them brings something of their own to the table. Something new. The first time the reader meets Eon, she is, under the guise of a boy, being berated for not being strong enough to match the boys in her cohort. We witness her humiliation and we notice the prejudice she comes up against because she is lame. There is a complexity in Eon’s character that is missing in many of the aforementioned heroines. Eon is like an onion, if you will pardon the overused analogy, crafted together, each layer at a time. She is a painting who is composed of a myriad of colours, some brighter than the others. Her past, her history and her lifetime of conditioning has made her into who she is and while her reactions and decisions are not always the right ones or even the smarter ones, there is a logic to them. The reader, though she may not agree, understands why Eon does what she does. You will find yourself caring about Eon, about what’s happening to her. You will find yourself rooting for her to succeed and feeling bitterly disappointed the times she doesn’t.

One of the most intriguing elements about the novel was the main characters continuous internal struggle to find herself. She has been in disguise almost all her life, not just hiding her gender from the world but from herself as well. It is her internal struggle to reconcile who she is with who she wants to be that will have you reading with sometimes a frustrated impatience and sometimes with a furiously beating heart. The book suggests that sometimes power is within us if only we can muster the courage to grasp it.

The plot is addictive and you will be reading at a feverish pace in your hurry to find out what happens next. This does make you feel that the pace is a bit slow but I think it is just a matter of the tension and anticipation the story builds while leading to the climax.

The richness of the prose, the detailed imagery, the evocative language and the even more intriguing side characters all set Eon apart as a novel on a level that is all its own. It needs no blurbs, nothing but the sheer strength of the poetry it contains within its pages to make fans of anyone who reads it. I recommend it to anyone who likes to read wonderful books.

12 thoughts on “Eon: Dragon Eye Reborn (Eon #1) – Alison Goodman

  1. I read this book awhile back and really enjoyed it, too! I agree, it was very fresh in a genre that’s full of “sparkles and elves.” =) I’ve found that as a rule, I like Eastern-inspired fantasy better than Western – any Western fantasy will inevitably be compared (and probably fall short) to Lord of the Rings, I think. Anyway, great review, and glad you liked it!

    Like

  2. great review!!! –I feel like I’ve seen the cover of this book before and wasn’t sure which way to go–But you’re description reminds me a little of Tamora Pierce’s Tortall books, which are some of my all time favorites!!!–I’m definitely going to see if I can hit my library for this one!!!

    Like

    1. Actually, it hadn’t even occurred to me but you are right! It is very much like Tamora Pierce’s books except hmm…a bit more mature? Yeah. Either ways, it’s totally awesome and I hope you read it and love it as much as I did.

      Like

  3. read it, and completely LOVED it!!!—and your review, not only holds up, but completely captures the book’s awesome epicness and flavor!!! very good recommendation!!! Thanks!

    Like

      1. I was going to email you (still will)–I went to the RT convention a week or so ago and got an ARC of Eona–since you’re the one who turned me onto the series, I would totally send it to you if you want—although the ARC says there will be a prologue in the finished edition, so I don’t know if you’d rather buy it–plus, although the mail is usually pretty decent, I wasn’t sure if you were going to rush out and get it right away….

        Like

  4. Yes. Yes. and Yes.–After I finally tracked down the first one, I read them back to back–and it takes off from the first book as if it had never ended, and then it’s non-stop from there!!!

    Can’t wait to hear how you like it!!!–Great recommendation!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

