Author Interview · Author Spotlight · Book Tour

Author Interview: Mary Lindsey (Shattered Souls)

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes and Noble
Expected publication: December 8th by Philomel/Penguin

Synopsis:

A thrilling debut story of death, love, destiny and danger

Lenzi hears voices and has visions – gravestones, floods, a boy with steel gray eyes. Her boyfriend, Zak, can’t help, and everything keeps getting louder and more intense. Then Lenzi meets Alden, the boy from her dreams, who reveals that she’s a reincarnated Speaker – someone who can talk to and help lost souls – and that he has been her Protector for centuries.

Now Lenzi must choose between her life with Zak and the life she is destined to lead with Alden. But time is running out: a malevolent spirit is out to destroy Lenzi, and he will kill her if she doesn’t make a decision soon.

  1. I read in the synopsis of Shattered Souls that there is love triangle. Considering the prevalence of love triangles in YA genre, I was wondering if it had a specific purpose in your novel?

That’s an excellent question. I’m not a big triangle fan, but in Shattered Souls, it happened organically and almost against my will.

I didn’t set out to write a triangle at all. In fact, in early drafts, one relationship had all but ended when the next one came along. As the story became more concrete, it struck me that Lenzi’s choice was about much more than just whether or not to believe what Alden was telling her. It was a choice between what she wanted for herself (a normal life with a sexy musician boyfriend), and what she could possibly do for others (a dangerous, frightening job with Alden). The choice between boys is not so much about which one she loves the most, but whether she’s willing to take that step away from her own comfort and ease to serve a higher purpose. A choice to which I think most women of all ages can relate.

2. I read on your blog that you write at your cabin surrounded by nature. Do you think the setting in which an author works influences the turn of the story he/she is writing?

I can’t speak for other writers, but absolutely think my surroundings influence my stories. I can write just about anywhere if I have to, but I have a definite preference for places with light and nature.

I live walking distance from an Audubon bird sanctuary. I like to go there in the early morning and late evening just as the sun is rising or setting because the deep woods feel primitive and raw. Most of what I write has a spooky side, and it’s so easy to imagine paranormal elements in natural settings where so many variables are out of my control. When I stall out, I often go for walks in cemeteries, woods, or the beach. I made several trips to the beach to fill in blanks or jump-start a scene when I was writing Shattered Souls.  The Texas beaches are especially cool when a storm is working out in the Gulf.

The cabin you mention in your question is my river house (pictured below) near Matagorda, Texas, on the Colorado River. It is by far my favorite place to write. Not only are there no distractions, like TV and internet, the house is on an island, so it’s a huge hassle to go anywhere. I’d have to take the cable car or a boat and then drive 30 minutes to even go buy a cup of coffee. The isolation keeps me grounded in my work.

3. What is the story behind the title? Was it difficult to choose a title for your novel?

Shattered Souls went through several titles. When my agent submitted it to Penguin, it had a working title of Soul Purpose, but I knew it was too punny and passive for the story. I was thrilled when my editor suggested Shattered Souls. It really encapsulates the mood and theme of the book.

4. What is the best about being an author?

Being paid to do what I absolutely love! It doesn’t get better than that. Oh, it’s also nice to I go to work in my pajamas.

5. What is the one book you wish you had read when you were a teen?

The hope, self-empowerment, and creativity of the Harry Potter series would have been amazing to experience as a teen.

Thank you so much for having me on your blog today and for kicking off the Shattered Souls blog tour, Nafiza!

I am glad to have you here, Mary. I wish you all the luck with the book release and future projects. More information about Mary can be found at her website. View the blog tour schedule here and find out more about Shattered Souls!

14 thoughts on “Author Interview: Mary Lindsey (Shattered Souls)

  1. Great interview!! =D I agree that Shattered Souls is a much better title than Soul Purpose. And the rive house sounds fantastic! I would get a ton of reading done there. ;)

    Like

    1. PJs are my favorite things, Janyece. I used to wear funny ones, like the kind with bunnies on them, but I’ve graduated to yoga pants. Now I don’t have to change to pick up the mail or walk the dog in the yard. :)

      Like

  2. This was a fun interview, Mary…good luck with the book and have fun on your blog tour!

    And I’m glad you posted a picture of the famous river house…my boys are off camping and my daughter is at the beach with her grandfather so I’m home alone, getting ready to dig into revisions…and the first thing I thought about this morning was your river house. :) “Home alone” is my version of it.

    Great inspiration for readers and writers alike–peace and quiet and lots of words!

    Best wishes,
    Ash

    Like

Leave a Reply

