favourites · Mixed Magic · review · YA

The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

17347389Hardcover, 448 pages
Expected publication: September 17th 2013 by Scholastic Press
Source: Publisher

Synopsis:
Now that the ley lines around Cabeswater have been woken, nothing for Ronan, Gansey, Blue, and Adam will be the same. Ronan, for one, is falling more and more deeply into his dreams, and his dreams are intruding more and more into waking life. Meanwhile, some very sinister people are looking for some of the same pieces of the Cabeswater puzzle that Gansey is after…

Review:

I actually finished this a few days ago but I still am not sure how exactly to put into words how this book made me feel.

It’s fierce. Passionate. And unapologetic. It is everything that I wanted it to be and just a little bit more. It isn’t perfect, I am not implying it is. I just mean that the goods were so good that they outweighed the bads.

I was genuinely scared wading into this because I thought that there was no way my expectations would be met. How could they? My expectations gave Mount Everest pause! But when I simply couldn’t resist, I plunged right in and it was wonderful.

The characters spring to life as though I had never left the world. Stiefvater does not spend too much time summarizing the first book or going over it in too much detail and I am glad because it would have bogged down the pace of this novel. There is a marked lack of Blue in this one and I was okay with it because some new fascinating characters made appearances. I particularly liked The Grey Man who subverted all the stereotypes and totally won my heart – despite his less than palatable profession. Gansey is just as charismatic and I fell a little in love with Noah in this one. Blue’s crazy family and the trio of clairvoyants are still as intriguing as ever. Adam, we’ll discuss him later.

The story, however, belonged completely to Ronan. He was the star of this piece. He is as deeply flawed a human as I have ever seen – actually, is he even human? Probably, since there was no discussion about it. Whatever he is, he is central to all the events taking place in Henrietta and as the threads of the narrative are pulled tighter, things begin to make sense and we see the conflict at the center. There is definite progression in the primary arc of the narrative and I like how the central plot of this middle novel feeds the overall story.

The dynamics between the characters are fascinating – especially the friendship between the boys as they struggle with issues of class and the disparity between their respective financial worth. The romance is a bit abrupt and it is the only weak point in the entire novel. I thought a little bit more time could have been spent developing the fallout and the attraction but eh, I can live with how it turned out.

The writing is superior to Stiefvater’s other works. Her words flow like honey and I’m not even saying that because I’m a fan. I actually didn’t like the author’s other works but her growth as a writer is distinctly visible in the quality of the writing in The Dream Thieves. If you haven’t started the series yet, I urge you to do so. It is one of the better ones out there.

7 thoughts on “The Dream Thieves (The Raven Cycle #2) by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. I’m so excited for this book! I finished reading The Raven Boys a second time and I enjoyed it more than I did the first time around. Probably because everything made so much more sense this time around. Who is your favourite Raven Boy Nafiza?

    Like

  2. I’m so excited for this one! I just finished re-reading TRB, so I am totally prepared for this to blow my mind. I love that we finally really get to know Ronan, though I have a feeling the romance may disappoint me a bit in this, but I’m thrilled that the usual crowd – and GANSEY – are as charismatic and readable as ever. Wonderful review, dear! :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

