reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

You guys, I’ve had the most fantastic reading week ever. So my writing suffered lots of BAH, I read and read and read and then read some more. It was glorious and though I go back to writing earnestly today, I needed a week like that so I could refill my creative spring inside. Keep it welling and flowing and ew? Let’s leave that analogy and move on to the many books I’ve read. I’m not joking. I read A LOT.

Books Read:

  1. The Almost Girl – Amalie Howard  (This one I mostly liked but there is a wtfery scene in there that I will talk about more in the review.)
  2. The Taming of the Tights – Louise Rennison (Say what you will about Rennison’s lack of substance, she knows how to bring in the laughs. Comedy is necessary.)
  3. When David Lost His Voice – Judith Venistendael (This book isn’t funny. At all. It took my heart and squeezed it tightly. I’ll review this too.)
  4. The Elements of Style – William Strunk Jr. (I FINALLY FINISHED THIS! Actually the last chapter is fantastic as it contains seriously relevant advice on writing. Check it out.)
  5. Who is AC? – Hope Larson (I seem to be reading all of Larson’s works without actually intending to. Not that they’re any bad but how weird.)
  6. Lovely Vicious – Sara Wolf (This one was seriously interesting. Review to come.)
  7. Unteachable – Leah Raeder (This book is FANTASTIC. Okay so sexytimes up the wazoo but so smart and intelligent and well written. And sexytimes are actually sexy instead of uh, ugh?)
  8. Saints – Gene Luen Yang (Gah, this was depressing.)
  9. Earth Girl – Janet Edwards (Ugh, Mary Sue Alert.)
  10. Ojingogo – Matthew Forsythe (Cute.)
  11. Hana-kun to Koisuru Watashi (volumes 3-6) – Fuyu Kumaoka
  12. Koi Dano Ai Dano vol. 1-6 – Ririko Tsujita

So 20 books (including individual manga volumes) in total. Hoho.

Moving on to what I’m currently reading!

Currently Reading:

1. A Literate Passion – Anais Nin and Henry Miller

I haven’t picked this up in a while and I want to. They were such crackpots but they lived so fervently and textually.

Plan to Read:

Only two books this week because I’m going to make a concerted effort to work on the thesis. The two I’ve chosen to read are:

  1. Among Others – Jo Walton (I’ve heard a lot about this and I got my brand new copy for 50c from a library sale.)
  2. The Winner’s Curse – Mari Rutkoski (I’ve been told there’s a horrid cliffhanger but I’m going to risk it and read. I can’t wait any longer.)
2 thoughts on “The Reading Forecast

  1. YES! I love Koi Dano Ai Dano!!! Please tell me you love it. You have to love it!! I love it almost as much as Skip Beat – Kanoko is so scheming and oblivious and I love her!….let’s see how many times I can say love before we both become desensitized. Oh that already happened? Oops. But on a side note, did you read the previous manga or are you coming to Kanoko with this as your first manga? You know what? I’m tired. You’re smart you can figure out what nonsense I’m trying to say like I’m not a monkey right now…

    Like

    1. I LOVE Koi Dano Ai Dano. I don’t know if I love it more than Skip Beat though. But yes! I’ve read the prequel to it. It was hilarious! Also, have you tried Taiyou no Ie? If you haven’t, you should. It’s SO ADORABLE!! Aaaahhhh. And Hana-kun to Koisuru Watashi. I wish they’d write contemp. romances like that. I’d read all of them. ^_____^

      Like

Leave a Reply

