On My Radar

On My Radar

On My Radar is a meme I do every Saturday (or whenever I have the inspiration to) where I share new books that have wandered into my to read list. It is inspired by the similarly named feature on TheBookSmugglers.com.

7872817

Read the synopsis and you will agree. We need this book in our lives. Immediately.

Harvey and his little brother, who is a lot taller than he is, are normal boys playing in the slushy streets of early spring when they suddenly learn that their father has died of a heart attack. Everything changes, and Harvey’s favorite movie, The Incredible Shrinking Man, suddenly begins to dominate his fantasy life. When relatives try to get him to look at his father in his coffin, he finds himself disappearing. Brilliantly illustrated, emotionally true, and devastatingly sad, this book is an artful and utterly convincing look at the experience of extreme emotional trauma.

17571564

My awesome friend, Yash, recommended this book to me. It sounds like something I’d love.

This is a book I wrote. Because I wrote it, I had to figure out what to put on the back cover to explain what it is. I tried to write a long, third-person summary that would imply how great the book is and also sound vaguely authoritative–like maybe someone who isn’t me wrote it–but I soon discovered that I’m not sneaky enough to pull it off convincingly. So I decided to just make a list of things that are in the book:

Pictures
Words
Stories about things that happened to me
Stories about things that happened to other people because of me
Eight billion dollars*
Stories about dogs
The secret to eternal happiness*

*These are lies. Perhaps I have underestimated my sneakiness!

17707648

Knowing what you do about my love for all things quirky, how in the world do you expect me to resist a title like that? Plus, I’ve never read a book about a hen before. PLUS it’s translation and I have a burning love for all translated things (except when I don’t.)

This is the story of a hen named Sprout. No longer content to lay eggs on command, only to have them carted off to the market, she glimpses her future every morning through the barn doors, where the other animals roam free, and comes up with a plan to escape into the wild—and to hatch an egg of her own.

12534534

I’m just going to say that I never needed training to be trouble. It comes to me naturally. You can call it a talent. (My parents certainly do.)

For all of his 12 years, Seamus Hinkle has stayed out of trouble, but on one fateful afternoon in the Cloudview Middle School cafeteria, Seamus accidentally does the unthinkable—a substitute teacher is dead, and Seamus is to blame. Unable to return to Cloudview, Seamus’ parents take him to the most infamous of reform schools: Kilter Academy. But when Seamus’ parents drive off, headmistress Annika Kilter shows her true colors: she’s not interested in reforming delinquents, but quite the opposite—the mission of Kilter Academy is to foster troublemaking, and she’s decided Seamus is her star pupil! Together with his new mischief-making friends, Seamus lives every young boy’s dream of getting points for getting in trouble! But soon Seamus discovers that Kilter Academy may have more plans in store for its students than just turning out troublemakers…

17612596

This sounds like it contains POC characters and I’M IN. Ahhhhh. I need this book in my life. Someone buy it for me!

Prepare to enter a world of magicians, enchanted forests, talking animals and wicked witches . . .

Here are six magical stories to thrill and enchant you. Watch Blackberry Blue rise from the bramble patch; follow Emeka the pathfinder on his mission to save a lost king; join Princess Desire as she gallops across the Milky Way on her jet-black horse.

13005952

Below, you will read the names of the authors whose stories are contained in this volume and you will understand why I chose to put this book on my list. Seriously.

Six writers – Margo Lanagan, Rosie Borella, Isobelle Carmody, Richard Harland, Margaret Mahy and Martine Murray – have taken inspiration from stories that have shaped us all, tales like ‘Beauty and the Beast,’ ‘The Steadfast Tin Soldier’ and ‘The Snow Queen’. This collection carries universal themes of envy and desire, deception and abandonment, courage and sacrifice.
Characters are enchanted, they transgress, they yearn, they hunger, they hate and, sometimes, they kill.
Some of the stories inhabit a traditional fairytale world, while others are set in the distant future. Some are set in the present and some in an alternative present. The stories offer no prescription for living or moral advice and none belong in a nursery.
Open the covers and submit to their enchantment.

5 thoughts on “On My Radar

Leave a Reply

