New on My Shelves · Roundups

Book Haul for November (and a wrap up of sorts)

For Review

  1. Love Letters to the Dead – Ava Dellaira
    I’ve been interested in this one ever since it was pitched to us at the Raincoast Winter Preview event and so I requested it. And I got it! Yay. I like epistolary novels quite a bit and you will be seeing a review of this somewhere closer to the release date.
  2. Copperhead – Tina Connolly
    I was sent this by Leah from Tor (thank you!). You’ve already seen a review of it here.
  3. The Nightmare Dilemma – Mindi Arnett
    I got this from Raincoast as well. I did not love the first one in this series but I didn’t hate it either and I am rather curious to find out how things play out for the main character.

Purchased

  1. The Agency: The Body at the Tower – Y. S. Lee
    I’ve been meaning to start my collection of this series and when I saw the second one at Chapters discounted, I couldn’t resist.
  2. The Tough Guide to FantasyLand – Diana Wynne Jones
    So I’m writing a fantasy and my friend Janet said that no one should even think about writing a fantasy novel without reading this one first. So, I purchased this. Plus it’s DWJ, guys, how could I go wrong?
  3. The Tiger’s Wife – Tea Obreht
    I heard about this book way back when it was released and was gaining lots of superlatives and laudatory reviews. I’m super curious about it. Plus, I found a nearly new copy at the library used books rack so banzai!
  4. The Shining Girls – Lauren Beaukes
    I flirted with this book for three weeks before finally picking it up. I got a shiny new hardcover for $7. A good deal if I do say so myself.

Books Read in November

  1. Pretty Girl 13 – Liz Coley
  2. The Plain Janes – Cecil Castellucci
  3. Blythewood – Carol Goodman
  4. Sharp Objects – Gillian Flynn
  5. The Almost Girl – Amalie Howard
  6. The Taming of the Tights – Louise Rennison
  7. When David Lost His Voice – Judith Vanistandael
  8. The Elements of Style – William Strunk Jr. and E. B. White
  9. Who is AC? – Hope Larson
  10. Lovely Vicious – Sara Wolf
  11. Unteachable – Leah Raeder
  12. Saints – Gene Luen Yang
  13. Earth Girl – Janet Edwards
  14. Ojingogo – Matthew Forsythe
  15. Hana-kun to Koisuru Watashi vol. 3-6 – Fuyu Kumaoka
  16. Koi Dano Ai Dano vol. 1-6 – Ririko Tsujita
  17. The Winner’s Curse – Marie Rutkoski
  18. Courtney Crumrin, vol 2. – Ted Naifeh
  19. Bink & Gollie: Best Friends Forever – Kate DiCamillo
  20. Bink & Gollie: Two for One – Kate DiCamillo
  21. At a Crossroads – Kate T. Williamson
  22. Hirunaka no Ryuusei vol. 1-7 – Mika Yamamori
  23. Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep – Philip K. Dick
  24. Among Others – Jo Walton
  25. Koi Nanka Hajimaranai vol. 1-6 – Yoshiko Fujiwara
  26. Weird Things Customers Say in Bookstores – Jen Campbell
  27. Emiko Superstar – Mariko Tamaki
  28. Premeditated – Josin L. McQuein
2 thoughts on “Book Haul for November (and a wrap up of sorts)

  1. You read ALL OF THESE BOOKS? And you’re in grad school? I bow down to your awesomeness. Cause jeez girl, I read 2 this month and I had to jump around and go WOOOT I AM ON A ROLL. lol. LOVE the new layout btw!

    Like

Leave a Reply

