Debut Novels

2014 Debut Novels: Part 2

So a few weeks earlier I talked about the 2014 debut novels on my list. Here are some more of them. Depending on how my TBR grows, there may be another post of the same nature.

  • Fake ID – Lamar Giles, L. R. Giles

    Nick Pearson is hiding in plain sight…My name isn’t really Nick Pearson.I shouldn’t tell you where I’m from or why my family moved to Stepton, Virginia.I shouldn’t tell you who I really am, or my hair, eye, and skin color.And I definitely shouldn’t tell you about my friend Eli Cruz and the major conspiracy he was about to uncover when he died—right after I moved to town. About how I had to choose between solving his murder with his hot sister, Reya, and “staying low-key” like the Program has taught me. About how moving to Stepon changed my life forever.But I’m going to.

  • Landry Park  – Bethany Hagen

    In a fragmented future United States ruled by the lavish gentry, seventeen-year-old Madeline Landry dreams of going to the university. Unfortunately, gentry decorum and her domineering father won’t allow that. Madeline must marry, like a good Landry woman, and run the family estate. But her world is turned upside down when she discovers the devastating consequences her lifestyle is having on those less fortunate. As Madeline begins to question everything she has ever learned, she finds herself increasingly drawn to handsome, beguiling David Dana. Soon, rumors of war and rebellion start to spread, and Madeline finds herself and David at the center of it all. Ultimately, she must make a choice between duty – her family and the estate she loves dearly – and desire.

Okay so now that I reread the synopses of the first two, I am no longer interested in them. All Nick Pearson can say about Reya is she is his dead friend’s sister and she’s hot, focusing on her looks entirely while all Madeline can say about David Dana (apart from the swanky alliteration of his name) is how handsome and beguiling he is. Colour me hugely unimpressed. So striking these two off my list. But hey, you guys may like them. And yes, I know that synopses can be totally misleading but you know what? There are way too many books in the world for me to not be picky about them. Okay, moving on!

  • The Falconer – Elizabeth May
    There are fanged fairies in here, I think. Plus strong heroine. I may like this one. I hope I do.

    Heiress. Debutant. Murderer. A new generation of heroines has arrived.Edinburgh, Scotland, 1844Lady Aileana Kameron, the only daughter of the Marquess of Douglas, was destined for a life carefully planned around Edinburgh’s social events – right up until a faery killed her mother.Now it’s the 1844 winter season and Aileana slaughters faeries in secret, in between the endless round of parties, tea and balls. Armed with modified percussion pistols and explosives, she sheds her aristocratic facade every night to go hunting. She’s determined to track down the faery who murdered her mother, and to destroy any who prey on humans in the city’s many dark alleyways.But the balance between high society and her private war is a delicate one, and as the fae infiltrate the ballroom and Aileana’s father returns home, she has decisions to make. How much is she willing to lose – and just how far will Aileana go for revenge?

  • Cruel Beauty – Rosamund Hodge
    I’ve heard great things about this one. It’s a Beauty and the Beast retelling so I’m very curious about how it plays out. Fortunately I have a galley and will be finding out soonish.

    Based on the classic fairy tale Beauty and the Beast, Cruel Beauty is a dazzling love story about our deepest desires and their power to change our destiny.Since birth, Nyx has been betrothed to the evil ruler of her kingdom-all because of a foolish bargain struck by her father. And since birth, she has been in training to kill him.With no choice but to fulfill her duty, Nyx resents her family for never trying to save her and hates herself for wanting to escape her fate. Still, on her seventeenth birthday, Nyx abandons everything she’s ever known to marry the all-powerful, immortal Ignifex. Her plan? Seduce him, destroy his enchanted castle, and break the nine-hundred-year-old curse he put on her people.But Ignifex is not at all what Nyx expected. The strangely charming lord beguiles her, and his castle-a shifting maze of magical rooms-enthralls her.As Nyx searches for a way to free her homeland by uncovering Ignifex’s secrets, she finds herself unwillingly drawn to him. Even if she could bring herself to love her sworn enemy, how can she refuse her duty to kill him? With time running out, Nyx must decide what is more important: the future of her kingdom, or the man she was never supposed to love.

  • Creature of Moonlight by Rebecca Hahn
    I’ve talked about this one before in one of my On My Radar posts so I won’t say much or anything really about it right now.

    As the only heir to the throne, Marni should have been surrounded by wealth and privilege, not living in exile-but now the time has come when she must choose between claiming her birthright as princess of a realm whose king wants her dead, and life with the father she has never known: a wild dragon who is sending his magical woods to capture her.

  • Feather Bound – Sarah Raughley
    This contains swan princesses. And high society. And funerals and stuff. Also blackmail. Anyway, I’m in. Here’s the synopsis:

    When Deanna’s missing friend Hyde turns up at his father’s funeral to claim his corporate empire and inheritance, she is swept into his glittering world of paparazzi and wealth.But re-kindling her friendship and the dizzying new emotions along for the ride are the least of her concerns. Because Deanna has a secret – and somebody knows. Someone who is out to get Hyde. And if she doesn’t play along, and help the enemy destroy him…she will be sold to the highest bidder in the black market for human swans.Now Deanna is struggling to break free from the gilded cage that would trap her forever…

10 thoughts on “2014 Debut Novels: Part 2

  1. I’ve heard really good things about The Falconer (But then I’ve heard really good things about Everneath, and I am still trying to wrap my mind around that one). I’ve not heard of Featherbound before, but it is definitely going on my TBR pile!

    Like

  2. Ahhhh yes, I have had my eye on The Falconer for what feels like AGES! I thought it was coming out in 2013, but maybe that was only in the UK. I can’t wait to get my hands on that book!

    Like

  3. The Falconer, and Cruel Beauty were already sitting on my TBR shelf- very excited for them, but A Creature of Moonlight looks like it could be great too- thanks for posting this,wouldn’t have known about it otherwise

    Like

Leave a Reply

