On My Radar

On My Radar!

Half of a Yellowed Sun – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

So her books are not my thing usually because books with heartbreak just kill me. I like fluffy reads and I’m not gonna lie. However, she is so wonderfully articulate and just such an amazing person that I’m sure her books, even though heartwrenching, will leave me changed in some way. So I shall attempt the book one of these days.

With astonishing empathy and the effortless grace of a natural storyteller, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie weaves together the lives of three characters swept up in the turbulence of the decade. Thirteen-year-old Ugwu is employed as a houseboy for a university professor full of revolutionary zeal. Olanna is the professor’s beautiful mistress, who has abandoned her life of privilege in Lagos for a dusty university town and the charisma of her new lover. And Richard is a shy young Englishman in thrall to Olanna’s twin sister, an enigmatic figure who refuses to belong to anyone. As Nigerian troops advance and the three must run for their lives, their ideals are severely tested, as are their loyalties to one another.

Piratica: Being a Daring Tale of a Singular Girl’s Adventure Upon the High Seas – Tanith Lee

I was almost sure I had read this but I cannot remember it so I will just have to reread it. No harm done. I like Tanith Lee’s works – at least I have liked the ones I have read so far.

Artemesia is the daughter of a pirate queen, and she’s sick of practicing deportment at the Angels Academy for Young Maidens. Escaping from the school, she hunts up her mother’s crew and breezily commands them out to sea in a leaky boat. Unfortunately, Art’s memories of her early life may not be accurate-her seasick crew are actors, and Art’s infamous mother was the darling of the stage in a pirate drama. But fiery, pistol-proof Art soon shapes her men into the cleverest pirate crew afloat. And when they meet the dread ship Enemy and her beautiful, treacherous captain, Goldie Girl, Art is certain that her memories are real. The Seven Seas aren’t large enough for two pirate queens: Art will have the battle of her life to win her mother’s title–and the race for the most fabulous treasure in pirate lore.

The Library of Forgotten Books – Rjurik Davidson

I love the title and I love reading books about books though the synopsis tells me this is more a collection of short works by this author whom I am not at all familiar with.

In this collection, PS Publishing presents the short works of Rjurik Davidson, whose protagonists wander dark cities of dreams, ravished by love and tormented by destiny…

Dissonance – Erica O’Rourke

I still have to read Erica’s first series (which started with a book called Torn, I believe) but I really like the synopsis of this one.

Delancy Sullivan has always known there’s more to reality than what people see. Every time someone makes a choice, a new, parallel world branches off from the existing one. Eating breakfast or skipping it, turning left instead of right, sneaking out instead of staying in bed ~ all of these choices create an alternate universe in which an echo self takes the road not travelled and makes the opposite decision. As a Walker, someone who can navigate between these worlds, Del’s job is to keep all of the dimensions in harmony.

Normally, Del can hear the dissonant frequency that each world emits as clear as a bell. But when a training session in an off-key world goes horribly wrong, she is forbidden from Walking by the Council. But Del’s not big on following the rules and she secretly starts to investigate these other worlds. Something strange is connecting them and it’s not just her random encounters with echo versions of the guy she likes, Simon Lane.

But Del’s decisions have unimaginable consequences and, as she begins to fall for the Echo Simons in each world, she draws closer to a truth that the Council of Walkers is trying to hide ~ a secret that threatens the fate of the entire multiverse.

Cuckoo Song – Frances Hardinge

I have yet to read a single book by Hardinge even though I have wanted to for years now. I should probably read one or two in 2014. This one sounds so amazing. Then again, all of them do.

The first things to shift were the doll’s eyes, the beautiful grey-green glass eyes. Slowly they swivelled, until their gaze was resting on Triss’s face. Then the tiny mouth moved, opened to speak. ‘What are you doing here?’ It was uttered in tones of outrage and surprise, and in a voice as cold and musical as the clinking of cups. ‘Who do you think you are? This is my family.’ When Triss wakes up after an accident, she knows that something is very wrong. She is insatiably hungry; her sister seems scared of her and her parents whisper behind closed doors. She looks through her diary to try to remember, but the pages have been ripped out. Soon Triss discovers that what happened to her is more strange and terrible than she could ever have imagined, and that she is quite literally not herself. In a quest find the truth she must travel into the terrifying Underbelly of the city to meet a twisted architect who has dark designs on her family – before it’s too late . . .

My Real Children – Jo Walton

I recently read Among Others by Walton and enjoyed it a lot but it taught me that Walton’s work has to be savoured slowly. You cannot gulp it down and expect to get the full flavour. Her stories don’t move on plot alone but characters and atmosphere. Anyway, this one sounds really intriguing.

It’s 2015, and Patricia Cowan is very old. “Confused today,” read the notes clipped to the end of her bed. She forgets things she should know—what year it is, major events in the lives of her children. But she remembers things that don’t seem possible. She remembers marrying Mark and having four children. And she remembers not marrying Mark and raising three children with Bee instead. She remembers the bomb that killed President Kennedy in 1963, and she remembers Kennedy in 1964, declining to run again after the nuclear exchange that took out Miami and Kiev.

Her childhood, her years at Oxford during the Second World War—those were solid things. But after that, did she marry Mark or not? Did her friends all call her Trish, or Pat? Had she been a housewife who escaped a terrible marriage after her children were grown, or a successful travel writer with homes in Britain and Italy? And the moon outside her window: does it host a benign research station, or a command post bristling with nuclear missiles?

4 thoughts on “On My Radar!

  1. I really like the sound of Cuckoo Song too. I’ve only read one Frances Hardinge title in the past – A Face Like Glass – but I loved it a lot. Dissonance hasn’t really been on my radar, but I feel like I’ve seen that cover before maybe once or twice. I haven’t read Erica’s first series either, but I like the synopsis for this one too.

    Like

    1. Erica’s first series had good reviews or rather the first book had good reviews so I hope this one will be good as well. The multiverse thing is really popular right now, isn’t it?

      Like

Leave a Reply

