lists · Roundups

Best Books I’ve Read in 2013: Part 1

Author Most Read

Andrea K. Höst

I read All the Stars back in 2012 and while I liked that one, I didn’t love it so I decided to try out Hunting because it sounded fantastic and something I’d totally love. And I was right. I loved Hunting so I read Champion of the Rose and then very close after them Medair and The Silence of Medair. I love the way Host is able to create such fleshed out and vibrant worlds using such few words. I am fully immersed in the world she creates and fully invested in the characters in each book. I love that she pushes boundaries where gender expression and sexuality are concerned and I like that though romance occupies a tiny portion of the narrative, it is substantial enough to suffice. If you haven’t yet checked out her novels, do so. They are very affordable as ebooks on Amazon.

Best Standalone

17675463

Standalone novels are becoming somewhat rare in YA novels so Erin Bow’s Sorrow’s Knot is a welcome a respite from the trilogies and series otherwise proliferating the genre. This book is beautiful in so many ways and I invite you to read my review because I said everything I want to there.

Crazily Entertaining

18657517

This one wins the award for being the most entertaining YA novel of the year for me. It also wins for the most irreverent, insane protagonist who wins at life. The tension, wit and chemistry between the two lead characters also wins. I will review this if I haven’t already.

Best Debut Novels of 2013

I have read many debut novels this year but these two I liked the most. A Wounded Name by Dot Hutchison is just so beautifully written. The language is exquisite and does everything for me while Cracked by Eliza Crewe introduces a different kind of heroine to the fore. One who is unapologetically wicked. I like that.

Best Explorations of Gender and Sexuality

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe, White Crow, The Summer Prince and Unteachable are all brilliant examples of books who have pushed the envelope in their portrayal of both gender and sexuality (in my opinion). They are all pretty wonderful books too and I thoroughly enjoyed reading them. I have not yet reviewed Unteachable but it’s coming soon!

Best Graphic Novels

I will have reviews for them all in the new year but they were all the best of the genre that I read in 2013 and I read quite a few graphic novels.

Best Literary Novels

The Wind-up Bird Chronicle, A Concise-Chinese English Dictionary for Lovers, The Diving Pool have all been reviewed. Among Others and Bloodletting & Miraculous Cures will be reviewed in the coming year.

16 thoughts on “Best Books I’ve Read in 2013: Part 1

  1. You read the The Wind-up Bird Chronicle. I’ve been trying to squeeze in some time to read this work of Murakami. Unfortunately, I read two of his not so good works. Will, read this one after I’ve dealt with Dostoyevsky’s “Notes from the Underground” and “Faust”. Another work of Murakami that I liked was Hardboiled Wonderland and The End of The World.

    Like

    1. I haven’t read that one though I do own it. I find Murakami’s work less to be something I can evaluate with a simple like or dislike and more an experience I think worth having.

      Like

  2. I DNFed The Summer Prince. The writing was just bothering me, but I am glad you found something of value there. I have a copy of Sorrow’s Knot and I really want to read it, I just have no time to fit it in right now with so many other review books. But I have heard so many great things and I can’t wait to find out myself.

    Like

  3. Among Other is a special book. I enjoyed it so much that after I finished reading it I turned around and read it aloud to my wife. Not sure if you’ve read any of Jo Walton’s nonfiction writing on the Tor.com website, but they are collecting several of her essays in a book titled “What Makes This Book So Great”. Comes out on the 21st of this month. Very excited about that one.

    Like

    1. I haven’t read anything else by Jo Walton but there is a new book of hers coming out soon that really intrigues me. I shall look for her nonfiction book as well. Thanks for the headsup!

      Like

Leave a Reply

