New on My Shelves

December Book Haul

So you guys, I realized that I have very little room on my shelves so I did a HUGE culling. You know, books I bought but don’t plan to read, books I bought but don’t plan to complete the series of, books I bought that were temporary slips into insanity. Stuff like that. So I have decided that in 2014, I will buy fewer books but I will buy ones that I really want to collect. Like graphic novels which will cost me a bit more perhaps but will be so worth it. You all know how much I love art.

In my family, we do not Christmas. I mean, we get together to eat and you know, sing out of tune, but we don’t do Christmas trees or present exchanges. However, I did get some presents from two friends and I got lucky at the VPL used book cart and I splurged on a manga. Here are the books:

039

Night Film – Marisha Pessl
Everyone and their mother are talking about this one. And I wanted to read it. Thank you Teng for this gift. I adore it.

Hyperbole and a Half – Allie Brosh
Okay so my friend Yash is my go-to person for graphic novels and webcomics. She has awesome taste that is very similar to mine so I jumped on this when she recommended it to me and then she gave this to me as a Christmas present. I am stoked!

Little Bee – Chris Cleave
I have no idea what this is about. And the author has implored the reader to keep hush about it. My friend Jessie did say that it is messed up though so I’m going to approach it with caution.

Snow Child – Eowyn Ivey
Another used book cart find and  I am stoked about it.

Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
The book cart has been good to me recently. I don’t know when I will read this but it will be before I die.

Skip Beat – Yoshiki Nakamura
I get to revisit the series with this volume and it makes collecting the series so much cheaper. I love this manga. Love it! Rahr.

2 thoughts on “December Book Haul

  1. You’ve just inspired me to get a move on culling my own shelves (why, oh why do I buy books I don’t plan to read?).

    I have that same edition of Anna Karenina and it’s lovely, but it’s one of those I don’t know if I’ll ever read. Especially since I know how it ends. :(

    Like

    1. It has a sad ending doesn’t it? Then again, it was written by a Russian novelist. Haha. Shelf culling feels good! Simply because I know I’m going to get more books in the future to fill up the room.

      Like

Leave a Reply

