top 100

The 100 Books You Ought To Read According to Me: Part 2

Another Sunday, another edition of the top 100 as I am calling it. If you are seeing this for the first time and have missed the first one, you can find it here, along with the reasoning and explanation of why I feel the need to create such a list. Now that we have that out of the way, let’s get on with numbers 11-20 on my list.

11. The History of Love – Nicole Krauss
This book made me sob brokenheartedly on the 99Bline on my way to school and earned me looks, some compassionate and some that said I was a crazy child and needed to be locked away. I don’t usually like books that make me cry but goodness, the prose in this book is so beautiful.

12. Monkey Beach – Eden Robinson
This book is beautiful and it gave me the feels. I read this for class and enjoyed it so much that it seemed a bit odd that I had to read it. I don’t know why I haven’t read anything more from this author.

13. If On a Winter’s Night A Traveler – Italo CalvinoThis book, you guys, drove me nuts. It confused me, puzzled me, exasperated me and all in a good way. Everything came together so awesomely at the end that I’m still shaking my head. Genius.

14. Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging – Louise Rennison
This book has been panned widely by critics for lacking substance and seriousness that is so necessary in children’s lit but let me tell you, I love this book. Just like I cried when reading History of Love, I laughed when I read this in public. Loudly and not very elegantly. I regret nothing.

15. The Changeover – Margaret Mahy
The thing about Mahy’s novels is that they all have that elusive magic to them that I cannot quite articulate. Maybe it was my child self, but this novel left a great impression on me. One that still remains so many years later.

16. The Perks of Being a Wallflower – Stephen Chbosky
I read this during my teenage eyes and goodness, the feels! I felt all of them right down to my toes. It was wonderful!

17Β  Matilda – Roald Dahl
At one point, all of my family members were reading this book at the same time. We had one copy. You do the math.

18. Wicked – Gregory Maguire
So the stychomythia in this amazing (rapid dialogue exchange a la Gilmore Girls) and I just loved the story. Fun story, the chairperson of my graduate program attended college with Gregory Maguire and calls him “Greg.”

19. The Big Over Easy – Jasper Fforde
This is the first one in the Nursery Rhyme Crime series and I love it. I love Fforde’s writing and his creativity tickles me pink. And yellow and sometimes blue, orange and red.

20. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
One of my friends wondered if I had picked up my ways of thinking from this book and I corrected her that no, I love this book because it echoes my thoughts about life. Is that very concerning?

Tune in next week for 21-30!

13 thoughts on “The 100 Books You Ought To Read According to Me: Part 2

  1. WIIICKED! Ugh that book changed my life. I bought it when I was traveling and I had a spare $5, and I was hungry and tired and saw this book and was like OK. This book, or food and water: I chose the book and never regretted it.

    Like

  2. The History of Love!!! I want to marry that book :) Awesome, awesome pick! And Angus, Thongs is one hilarious read. I love Perks as well. Great recommendations, Nafiza. ;)

    Like

  3. I have a few short stories from Roald Dahl, and I loved them, but I still want to read Matilda and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.
    And yes, the Perks of being a Wallflower was so sad, thrilling, and beautiful at the same time. The movie was also excellent, a quite good book adaption in my opinion :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

