top 100 · Uncategorized

The Top 100 Books You Ought to Read: Part 3

Time for another edition of The Top 100 (I always pretend I’m saying this in the highly annoying voice of the presenter from The Hunger Games). If you haven’t seen parts 1 and 2, click click on those links!

21. Like Water for Chocolate – Laura Esquivel
This very beautiful book is interspersed with recipes and infused with magical realism that makes reading it an absolute pleasure. The book lingers and I practically forced my friend to buy a copy the other day at Chapters – in my defense, the hardcover was going for $5.

22. The Wind-Up Birk Chronicle – Haruki Murakami
This one resonated with me and I feel like I must reread Kafka on the Shore because now I can’t remember what it was like while this one, I can’t stop thinking about it. Even though the main character spends vast amounts of time sitting in a dry well, so many things happen, so many feelings are evoked and they all reiterate that Murakami is a master storyteller.

23. The Colour Purple – Alice Walker
I really liked this one. It was brutal but it touched me and is due for a reread soon, I think.

24. Blankets – Craig Thompson
I didn’t like his second one but this one, oh my goodness, it was beautiful. I adored the art and the story. It manages to capture certain quiet moments in a person’s life.

25. Weetzie Bat – Francesca Lia Block
When I read Block, it always feels like I’m drinking sugary lemonade. And walking the sunny and colourful streets of LA while sporting some kind of ridiculous hat. It’s a good feeling.

26. Feed – M. T. Anderson
This is a chilling prediction of the future and other than that, a seriously good book. Read it and be prepared to let go of technology for a bit.

27. The Outsiders – S. E. Hinton
This novel was written about teens by a teens and it captures that transient portion of our lives so beautifully.

28. Speak – Laurie Halse Anderson
This book is difficult to read but so important because it goes places books rarely want to go.

29. Born Confused – Tanuja Desai
A novel that seemed to be based on my life. This was the first time I came across someone who could have been me, someone my colour and someone whose experiences could be mine. I loved it and this book taught me why it is so important for diversity in children’s literature.

30.Bloody Jack – L. A. Meyer
The male author wrote in such an authentic female voice that I was convinced. I’m going to reread the first one this coming week so I can report to you guys whether the novel withstands the test of time.

12 thoughts on “The Top 100 Books You Ought to Read: Part 3

  1. You know I actually haven’t read most of these ones. The two I have (Feed and Speak) I would definitely agree with though. And did you say magic realism and recipes? I’m in. I am so in. Maybe my used bookstore will have it…(which I think is actually built out of books. It’s kind of terrifying when you first walk in. It’s like a maze. And the walls are floor to ceiling made of books. It’s intense.)

    Like

  2. Interesting list. I’ve only read The Color Purple, looking forward to trying out The Outsiders, Like Water for Chocolate, and Speak.

    I’ve never heard of Born Confused. Must look it up in goodreads.

    Like

  3. Yes, the wind up bird chronicle is also on my to-read list. I only hear good things about it, and have to read it soon.
    I tried to watch the movie “The color purple” but I was quite disgusted and shocked, so that I just turned it off. I seldom do that, but I just couldn’t. Maybe I will read the book some time, let’s see.

    Like

Leave a Reply

