wants and wishes

Wants and Wishes #1

Wants and Wishes is a new feature here at Bibliophilic Monologues that will talk about books I’ll get around to acquiring eventually. What sets it apart from On My Radar and other similar lists is that those lists contain books I want to read but not necessarily own while this list contains books I want to get my grubby hands on. Actually, my hands are very clean. Anyway, get your avarice ready, this is what I’m salivating over right now:

The Arrival – Shaun Tan
This book has no words and is more powerful for it. The art is out of this world and it’s kind of ridiculous that I don’t have it yet considering how long I have been pining for it. Why haven’t I bought it already?

Nursery Rhyme Comics – Edited by Chris Duffy
I’ve read the Fairy Tale Comics and loved them and the few pages I saw on Amazon make me sure that this volume is one I must own. Soon.

Anne of Green Gables – L. M. Montgomery
So I really love Anne of Green Gables, the first volume anyway and the other day, I realized that I actually didn’t have a copy of it in my collection. I mean, a good copy. I had a ratty one that was falling apart. So now I want a pretty one and this one seems to be the prettiest so I want it.

Flora and Ulysses – Kate DiCamillo
Yes, so, I’ve been resisting this for a while cuz you know, money. But it is my b’day soon so I think I can get someone to get it for me. I’ve been practicing my puppy eyes.

Jane, the Fox & Me – Fanny Britt
This one is gorgeous. I’ve picked it up and put it down several times in bookstores and I know that whenever I get it, it’ll be worth it because good things usually are.

6 thoughts on “Wants and Wishes #1

  1. I really enjoyed The Arrival and want to get my hands on more of Shaun Tan’s work. I like how he uses his art not just to tell a story but to give deeper meaning to the subject. Flora & Ulysses was really cute and fun! Hopefully you’ll be able to get all of these books and more:)

    Like

Leave a Reply

