top 100

The Top 100 Books You Ought to Read: Part 5

Parts 1, 2, 3, 4 (or you could just check the tag.)

41. The Complete Peanuts – Charles M. Schulz
I didn’t grow up reading Peanuts so I didn’t understand what the big deal was until one day, following a whim, I checked out a volume of the comics from the library, say down and read it. Then I was hooked. It’s so many things. Funny, poignant, precocious. It manages to capture the essence of childhood in a way that not many authors are able to.

42. Cat Royal series – Julia Golding
So I have a thing for smart, mentally strong and capable heroines and Cat Royal is definitely one of them. The journey of books 1-5 is definitely amazing, book 6 sputters in places and there don’t seem to be plans to release the consecutive books because of reasons. However, books 1-5 are good enough that I still urge you to read them. For the fun.

43. Generation X – Douglas Coupland
Fun fact: I read this first for a CanLit class in my undergrad years and ended up loving it so much I reread it. The language, the progression of the story, the feelings expressed by the characters – I empathized with them so hard and if you are a 20-something adult just coming to terms with what it means to live, you’ll love this too.

44. The Diviners – Libba Bray
Bray writes huge books but hers is a talent that no one can deny and those who do should know better. This book is a monster but one that you will want to keep near you and pet at interim moments. The story is immense and if you are curious, I have done a review on it.

45. Kitchen – Banana Yoshimoto
This volume contains two stories and both of them are extremely difficult. It’s remarkably difficult to talk about as it has an elusive quality that translates so well into feelings felt but not articulated. It’s a beautiful book and you ought to read it.

46. “Repent, Harlequin!” said the Ticktockman – Harlan Ellison
This is undeniably the best short story I have had the fortune to read in my entire life.  You can even get it online for free as it is available (legally). Just google it.

47. The Ruby Red Trilogy – Kerstin Gier
Ah, this trilogy is full of the funs and if you have days when the world seems to have cooked up a vendetta against you, there is nothing better than getting under the covers with these books and letting them take you away to laughing-land. And cookie flavored kisses.

48. A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary for Lovers – Xiaolu Guo
So I have a thing for language, as my thesis supervisor tells me. I luxuriate in it and this author plays with language in such beautiful ways that are so true to life. I recommend this.

49. Spiritwalker Trilogy – Kate Elliott
I have reviewed all three of the books (or maybe the first and the third one) but I love these books so darned much. They do everything for me. Yep.

50. Eon duology – Alison Goodman
This one isn’t wholly perfect but it gets close enough that it deserves a number on my list. Goodman’s writing is wondrous as are her characters. Plus dragons. Really, how could you go wrong with dragons?

5 thoughts on “The Top 100 Books You Ought to Read: Part 5

Leave a Reply

