reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

You guys, the reading is not happening these days. I try but I’m having a difficult time concentrating or finding time to just read. All you new parents will know how much attention a baby requires (and I’m not even a mom, I just live with my niece who is 13 months old and requires ALL my attention) so I’m more likely to be singing nursery rhymes than reading. Not that I mind but I wish I had more time, you know? I have the desire to read just not the time or energy to. Balance that with the thesis writing, conference planning, The Book Wars and a number of editorial and tutoring gigs makes for a very busy me. I’ve only read 40 books so far this year and that drives me nuts because I had read twice the number by this time last year.

Does anyone else wish we lived slower lives? Ones where we could linger over cups of tea or coffee and just move a bit slower, take more time to appreciate what we have rather than always running and grasping for what we don’t? I’ve been feeling like that recently. I want to live in the moment, because each second is precious, because, perhaps, now may be all we’ll ever have.

Anyway, we’re here to talk about books so I will go ahead and talk about this. This new prose format (rather than the list form I had previously adapted) will allow me to go into detail about what I’m reading and that will be the focus compared to talking about what I will be reading because let’s face, the week may run out with me just reading the same thing.

I’m reading, very slowly, Death, Gender and Sexuality in Contemporary Adolescent Literature by Kathryn James. It is worth noting that “contemporary” here means novels published in the past 30 years or so rather than the way contemporary is normally defined around the blogosphere. We use “realistic” fiction instead of contemporary fiction to refer to novels that deal with modern day social issues. Anyway, this volume, though slim, requires a lot of attention to parse through as the writing is rather dense and unnecessarily convoluted. And though James is focusing on Australian lit. primarily, I’m hoping that the stuff she says will be applicable to the North American children’s lit. I am reading. We’ll see.

I’ve decided to put An Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman on hold for the moment. I will definitely read it but I just can’t seem to get into it right now so I will put it aside and pick it up at a later date when I’m more in the mood for Gaiman’s particular style of writing. I start The Savage Girl by Jean Zimmerman and I think I may have to put it aside until I can get my hands on a physical copy because I think the medium in which I read the novel will affect the amount of enjoyment I get from it. I like what I have read so far but I just don’t like reading it on the Kindle. So yeah, perhaps I’ll place it on hold.

I also started Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and though I have just read 3 pages of the 600 page novel so far, I can tell I’m going to enjoy it. It is going to make me think and I love books that make me think. I hope I can get it read in three weeks or so but we’ll see.

I finished reading The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare by M. G. Behrlen and I quite enjoyed it. I shall have a review up for it soon, this week I hope. I also finished The Ghost Train to New Orleans by Mur Lafferty and though I enjoyed it, I did not like it as much as I did the first one. Again, I will be reviewing this soon, perhaps by Friday. As for what I plan to read this week, I’m going to continue with the Adichie book and I also want to get two middle grade novels I got sent for review from Penguin Canada read: The Last Wild by Piers Torday and Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald. Of course, knowing myself, I may just decide to not read any of these and read another entirely. I know enough about myself to accept this rather flighty quality about myself. I hope your reading week is amazing.

One thought on “The Reading Forecast

  1. I’ve discovered in my endeavour to read more non-fiction that I read those books very slowly but I’m also finding it’s not a bad thing. I guess my mind needs to soak it up at this pace. I really want to alternate between reading something new and re-reading some books to compare my past experiences (and get some good comfort reading in) but my borrowing habits are being counterproductive to this idea…

    Like

Leave a Reply

