reading forecast

An Update on Reading, the Conference and Life

I remember when I had time, glorious time, with no responsibilities or errands to run. Time I could spend reading or just dreaming. I miss that.

If I haven’t mentioned it before, I’m co-chairing the planning committee for the 2014 International Graduate Research Conference in Children’s Literature, “I Will Be Myself”: Identity in Children’s Literature, Media and Culture. The conference will be held on May 3rd, 2014 at the Vancouver campus of the University of British Columbia. Registrations are now open and quite affordable, really, $18 for students and $35 for professionals. The panels (the program isn’t  up yet) will be wonderful and I know because I’m involved the process of making the program and I cannot wait to go to many of them. If you have a chance to attend, you totally should and you should let me know as well so I can say hello on the day of.

That said, the conference is taking up all my time. One of our committee members has to leave because of reasons and that means a whole lot more work needs to be done by us three co-chairs. We say co-chairs but honestly, we’re doing most of the work. So until the conference is over, no, until a week after the conference is over, I’m not going to have the time or energy to do much else besides fret and stress about the stuff. I will continue blogging but I beg your patience as there may be some days when I just don’t have the time to.

I haven’t even gotten to write my thesis in a week which is seriously worrying because I am on a deadline. My first draft is due on April 29th and well, that’s approaching rather speedily. So I will be concentrating on that for the entire week. As far as reading is concerned, I am working on Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. I’m not sure I will finish it this week but I do want to put a major dent in it. I will also try to read two other review novels though I make no promises as I am going to be barricading myself from Wednesday to Friday writing my thesis.

One thought on “An Update on Reading, the Conference and Life

Leave a Reply

