reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

This one is going to be kind of mega because I’m doing it for a long while because I will no longer have time to do a weekly one because of THE CONFERENCE. I can’t wait for May 3rd, actually I can because WHOA, stuff to do before then but once it’s come and gone, THERE WILL BE NO MORE CONFERENCE. Event planning, you know, or even if you don’t know, sucks kinda big time because work, like whoa. Anyway, yes, reading which I’m going to be doing at a consistent rate. I realized that I no longer have the time to read everything really fast because for one, no time and for another, brain is feeling rather weary these days and refusing to just go with gusto.

I finished two books last week which is a step down from my usual three but eh, one of them was a 600 page beast so I feel okay about that. I finished Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and I will a pretty review discussing it up sometime this week. I also finished Nursery Rhyme Comics which was edited by Chris Duffy. I liked that one and will probably review it over at The Book Wars cuz we are having a Graphic Novel/Manga/Webcomics month. Oh yes, I also managed to read Tale of a Great White Fish by Maggie de Vries which was superinformative and a bit sad as welll.

I am currently reading The Savage Girl by Jean Zimmerman and liking what I have read so far. Print review copies get higher priority from me than e-copies but I do make an effort to read all I have requested. And it will be no different this time – I will just do it much slower than usual. After I’m done with the Zimmerman book, I plan to read The Ring and the Crown by Melissa de la Cruz which hopefully will be a fast read. Then I can move on to The Strange & Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. It looks like it’s sure to be an award winner next season and I’m excited to read it. After that I’m going to be tackling Ava Dellaira’s Love Letters to the Dead followed by Beth Kephart’s Going Over. And then I will start Princesses Behaving Badly by Linda Rodriguez McRobbie.

I will hopefully read more books here and there but until the conference and the first draft of le thesis are done, I don’t foresee much reading in my future, other than the stuff I have mentioned. I hope you’re all well and reading or just enjoying the bits of sunshine when you can. Cheers.

Leave a Reply

