review

Flash Reviews

So I have read a number of books that I didn’t feel like reviewing in full but I thought I’d just do three or four sentence “what I thought” things of them. Here we go:

16069167Hardcover, 305 pages
Published February 25th 2014 by Scholastic Press

This resembled The Hunger Games way too much for me to be comfortable with it. I understand that it was inspired by it but when you have “games” and “arenas” and groups of kids participating, yeah. Also, very lame reasons for the games. Love interest is the predictable tortured sort and just, no. The protagonist is annoying – she is supposed to be a fluffy sort who cannot survive in the world and yet she does. A lot of people will like this but I didn’t.

15742484Hardcover, 192 pages
Published January 7th 2014 by HMH Books for Young Readers

I liked this well enough but I was seriously annoyed with Digit in this one. She has a boyfriend and yet there she is lusting after someone else and not being clear about it. It ceased to be funny really quick. I wish the love triangle hadn’t happened and I wish Digit would stop being stupid and realize that her boyfriend is actually making sense. I don’t know if I will read the next one honestly. Which would be a shame but I can’t handle another book of waffling about which boy makes her heart doki-doki more.

15792316Kindle Edition, 360 pages
Published February 11th 2014 by HarperTeen

Yeah, this didn’t work for me at all. A colossal disappointment in fact. The writing mainly and the split perspectives didn’t help any though I did appreciate that there were two girls narrating the story as opposed to a girl and a boy.

17563080Kindle Edition, 369 pages
Published March 4th 2014 by Roc

I’ve realized what rubs me the wrong way about Bishop’s books: the way the women are infantalized and coddled. Treated as though they are rarefied and this doesn’t sit well with me. There was a whole lot of posturing here about how strong the others were and the book was a reiteration of human stupidity, greed and cruelty. I think it’s time I stopped with this series.

13409664Hardcover, 388 pages
Published March 25th 2014 by Kathy Dawson Books

Bodies dropped here faster than leaves do in autumn. I find it difficult to categorize books like this one – ones that are set in real life and do not deal with paranormal things but are not wholly believable either. This book suffered from a lack of logic and was just unbelievable. I thought the way they made the cops look incompetent took away the credibility of the book. Sure, having them smart would have required more thinking and been more challenging but it would have a much more satisfying read.

6 thoughts on “Flash Reviews

Leave a Reply

