reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Yay! I can now go back to doing regular reading forecasts. Sort of. This is the last week of the conference madness and I think I can read at a steady pace instead of not reading at all and then binge reading where I’ll read six books in two days and then feel mentally bloated. Has that ever happened to you?

I have been blogging for four years now and I think I am fatigued. I was flirting with the idea of saying goodbye to the blogosphere and then I realized that I would regret it if I gave this up so I have reached a compromise. To prevent getting burnt out, I’m going to read what I want when I want it instead of reading on a schedule. Which means I’m going to decreasing my books I accept/request for review quite a lot. No matter how much I like the book, once I have to read it, it becomes more of a chore than a pleasurable way to spend my free time. And then since I have to read it by a certain time, if I am not in the mood for the genre or kind of book it is, I actively resist the book and when I force myself to read it, my enjoyment of it is affected. I think many of my fellow bloggers will understand what I’m talking about.

So, though I’m not going to give up reviewing books for publishers altogether, I’m just going to get choosier about it. After I finish the 25 or so books remaining on my read and review list of course. Anyway, on to the books I’m currently reading:

Highway to Hell (Maggie Quinn: Girl Vs. Evil) – Rosemary Clement-Moore

This is the third one in the trilogy? Series? Yeah, it’s more a three book series than a trilogy because though the characters are the same, the books are more episodic than a continuation of the same narrative. I liked the first two quite a bit but I think I need a break from Maggie before I read the third one and complete it. I’m a fan of Clement-Moore specially because her characters are just so darned fun to read. This series is her earliest work so her voice is not as polished but I am enjoying Maggie anyway.

Tell the Wolves I’m Home – Carol Rifka Brunt

I actually started reading this quite a while back but I only read the first ten pages and put it down – not because it wasn’t good, on the contrary, the first ten pages of this one are fantastic but because I had other stuff to read then. Now I’ve picked it up and it’s curious. It tugs at my heartstrings but I’m resisting getting attached in case a favourite character dies. Though, one of the characters died at the beginning so I’m hoping it will be about the grief and not more people dying. Still, I’m quite enjoying this though I have a serious hate going for the sister. She’s so horrible.

The Oversight – Charlie Fletcher

I’m supposed to read and review this over at Cuddlebuggery and I was going to read it quickly so that I’d be in time for the release date but the writing style is not conducive to quick reading. Fletcher took two pages to describe a kitchen and well, this is concerning. I don’t do well with overly detailed novels because I feel they take away from the pace but I will persevere. The reviews have been positive for this one.

One thought on “The Reading Forecast

  1. That’s a really good decision you’ve come to. I forget often that people can get burned out on reading because theirs is on a schedule, and I never contend with that pressure. Gotta keep it copacetic, Nafiza. I like the compromise. :] Who else would save me from my poorly chosen “maybe” reads?!

    Like

Leave a Reply

