reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Before we start talking about the reading, let me just say that the conference is OVER. And it was a resounding success. 8 months of work, countless emails, letters, pleas and brownies (because what is life without brownies?), and coffee later, the 5th biennial Graduate Research Conference in Children’s Literature is over. It still hasn’t sunk in yet and the other two co-chairs and I still have to write reports but the event itself is over. It was an amazing experience and though I wasn’t initially sure I would be able to do the work, thanks to the wonderful people who worked with me, we were able to pull this one.

Whew.

I took one month off from the thesis so I could devote all my energies to it and now I can go back to the second stage in my thesis writing which is revision. Unlike other people, I really enjoy revising (I may yet change my mind) so I’m looking forward to the process.

How does this affect my reading?

Well, I’m going to be doing more of it now. Without feeling as guilty because dude, I have two main objectives now: find a job, finish my first revision before August 15th.

So let’s talking about all the books I managed to read last week:

  1. Highway to Hell – Rosemary Clement-Moore
    This was okay. I liked it but I felt the pace was a bit too slow. I was ready for the book to be over long before it was.
  2. Tell the Wolves I’m Home – Carol Rifka Brunt
    I really liked this one. I will be talking about it over at The Book Wars.
  3. Jane, the Fox and Me – Fanny Britt, Isabelle Arsenault
    I will be reviewing this soonish. Or laterish.
  4. Indoor Voice – Jillian Tamaki
    Weird as hell. A bit of a disappointment really but eh. It made no promises.
  5. How To – Julie Morstad
    So fantastic. I loved it.
  6. On the Fence – Kasie West
    Meh. I’ll review this.

I’m currently reading:

  1. I Sweep the Sun Off Rooftops – Hanan al-Shaykh
    I am really enjoying this one. Her stories all feature women at different stages in their lives, battling the little things that have the most weight.
  2. The Over Sight – Charlie Fletcher
    I find this a bit annoying to read. I can appreciate it from a purely academic perspective but I find that I need to concentrate to enjoy this and it’s a bit exhausting. I also don’t know how I feel about the alleged main character (she might not be) and I don’t know how much I like her (very little) and so I have no one I completely like – the characters are lost in the amount of description and detailing going on. I can’t make a connection to anyone and so my reading progress is slow.

Apart from the two above, I plan to read:

 

  1. The Ocean at the End of the Lane – Neil Gaiman
    So I have a signed copy and I remember listening to Neil speak and being very excited for the story but somehow it never happened? I mean, I read 20 or so pages and then just never continued? Of course I need to remedy that after being shamed by my friends.
  2. Mr. Fox – Helen Oyeyemi
    So I read a chapter of this the other day and OH MY GOD, I’m going to love this. I know that already. So I’m just going to do it.
  3. The Queen of the Tearling – Erika Johansen
    The reviews for this one are all over the place and I want to make up my own mind.

So I may just read these five or I may not read any of them and instead read other things. I’m also going to the library where I have put many books on hold so really, we’ll see. I’m excited!

 

2 thoughts on “The Reading Forecast

Leave a Reply

