life and other dramas

On Baby Clothes, Blogging Fatigue and Other Crunchy Things (like my TBR Mountain)

Recently, items of clothing belonging to my niece have been making their way into my room. She is sixteen months old so there is no way I got her stuff thinking they were mine. For instance, a little sock was lying, rather imperiously if I say so myself, on a pile of books last night, just daring me to throw it out and today I woke up to find a tiny little grey t-shirt sitting smugly on the pillow next to me. I don’t understand the migratory patterns of baby clothes but I have a feeling they are trying to take over my room. I don’t know what actions I will have to take to stop this invasion but surely, there is something I can do.

 

Ever since the conference ended, I have found myself with time on my hands and while this time has disappeared due to my genius ways of killing time (I can stare at the ceiling for long periods of time, no I can’t, that would drive me nuts), I did realize something about myself: I need to be constantly doing something. So I started Tackle the TBR Project where I catalogue all the unread books that I have in my possession. When I started out, I thought the process would be daunting but doable and I was right but I didn’t consider that cataloguing all the books would make me feel overwhelmed. I have a LOT OF unread books. I can and I will, iA, read them all but there are so many of them and all of them are so exciting and my brain keeps trying to burst. I’m trying not to let it because burst brain equals dead Nafiza but it’s difficult. Here’s the link if you want to check out the books I have in my TBR mountain.

 

You may have noticed that I post a bit less (okay, a lot less) these days and when I do, the posts are usually reviews. I have stopped doing fun posts such as Bibliophilic Monologues and On My Radar and other fun stuff that I can’t remember now but used to do to break up the monotony of review posts. There are two reasons for that. One, I do a lot of discussion posts on The Book Wars, and two, I’ve got blogging fatigue. This June will mark my 4th year as a book blogger and isn’t that insane? If I were more ambitious, I could have been a book blogging queen right now but I prefer my small circle of readers. Anything else is too exhausting. It has been two years since I finished my undergraduate degree and I feel a certain degree of pride when I say that I have done many things since then – things that matter but these things have taken a lot out of me and I think blogging suffers. Or, we could also blame the elephant in the room:

 

The thesis. If someone had told me two years ago that I would write an 86k word novel in seven months, I would have scoffed at them. Because I had the discipline of an excitable chihuahua. No really, I did. I began projects willy nilly and then didn’t complete them and while short stories were well and fine, an entire novel? But then, someone told me I couldn’t and I had to prove them wrong and I did. I guess reverse psychology works well on me. I am deep in revisions right now and charting my progress in a separate page here because I need to see that I’m making progress. I may post excerpts from the novel at some point after the defense is done but right now, I’m too neurotic. I know it’s not terrible, my writing, but I can’t say for sure it is good. That’s the bad thing about reading as much as I do; you build up a low tolerance for bad writing, even if it is my own.

 

So to conclude this series of related vignettes that continue the saga of my life, let me just say that I can’t promise I will be back as fiercely as I used to be two years ago, being older and having different priorities now, but I do promise that the stuff you will read on this blog will be interesting. I may post less but I will try to post interesting stuff – especially reviews. Because this is what the blog is primarily about, right? Book reviews, and I can promise that you will get them.

 

Now I go to wage war against the baby clothes.

2 thoughts on “On Baby Clothes, Blogging Fatigue and Other Crunchy Things (like my TBR Mountain)

  1. Congrats on the thesis! And I still love your blog, so I’m glad to hear you won’t stop blogging entirely! (Says the girl who has been way too lazy to blog herself, lol.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

