reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

I am so late with the forecast because of many reasons but mostly because I woke up at noon. Ahem. So reading, yeah reading. I have said I’m in the middle of revising my thesis so I’m not doing much reading but! I did finish what I sought out to finish and wow, unnecessarily complex sentence. Okay, moving on briskly to books I read last week!

I read three very different books last week. Different from each other, I mean. And they were!

  1. The Girl With All The Gifts – M. R. Carey
    I gave this three stars even though it probably deserved more but I have a yellow heart and you shall hear more about this when I write a review on it.
  2. The Power of Poppy Pendle – Natasha Lowe
    On the surface, this is a pretty heartwarming story but if you look at the subtext, this begins to get disturbing. I may be reading too much into it but I will probably write a short review because I like to analyze stuff.
  3. A Game for Swallows: To Die, to Leave, to Return – Zeina Abirached
    This graphic novel deserves a review and I’m probably going to write one for Cuddlebuggery to give it a wider audience that it would receive here. *cheese*

 

What I’m Currently Reading and Will Probably Be Reading for the Next Two Weeks:

I decided to start a number of books because I felt like it. (I usually do these things based purely on whim and fancy. No more scheduling and structure to my reading.) So here are the books!

  1. Gender Trouble – Judith Butler
    I meant to read this feminist text for my academic thesis but this got set aside when I decided to do a creative writing thesis instead. I picked this up again when I was cataloging books for my TBR project and read a couple pages of it. This is extremely readable and I look forward to reading more of it. And hey, I’ll be tackling the TBR mountain in the same go!
  2. Mother Tongue – Bill Bryson
    I am fascinated by language and will read anything to do with it. Plus it’s Bryson and he writes with such verisimilitude that he turns even the driest subject fun. I’m about thirty pages in and quite enjoying this.
  3. Crazy Rich Asians – Kevin Kwan
    I’m supposed to be enjoying this but for some reason, I’m not. Still, I’m only a 100 pages in and there is hope that it’ll get better.
  4. (Don’t You) Forget About Me – Kate Karyus Quinn
    While I wasn’t entirely enamored by Quinn’s debut novel, I thought she had a wonderfully fresh style and her poetry was beautiful. So I downloaded this from Edelweiss and I’m glad I did because I like the protagonist already and I’ve just at about 10% into the story.

This is it for me for possible this week and the next. I don’t know. I find myself crazily busy all of a sudden – not that I hate it. I like being busy!

Leave a Reply

