reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Before I start talking about all the books I plan to devour, let me tell you some exciting news. I sent in the revised draft of my thesis novel to my supervisor and she told me to stop working on it until she is done reading it. Which means I have TWO MONTHS of not working on my thesis. TWO WHOLE MONTHS!!!!! I am a bit delirious at the thought. Okay yes, I still have other stuff to do, other important stuff to do, like finding a job but I can now indulge in guilt free reading. It is all very exciting.

So you would think I haven’t done much reading last week because I was so busy revising the novel but you would be wrong. I had bus rides and I managed to read some books and well…let me just tell you what they were:

  1. Don’t You Forget About Me – Kate Karyus Quinn
    This one was weird but in an interesting way. Interesting enough that I ended up giving it 4 stars though the truer rating would be somewhere near 3.75. I will be doing a review on this very soon so look out for that.
  2. Shades of Milk and Honey – Mary Robinette Kowal
    So I’ve owned this book and two sequels for a long time already and I read this in one setting. It wasn’t bad but it wasn’t awesome either. I may review it. This one I gave three stars to.
  3. Lotus Root Children – Wei Lee
    My friend went to Van Comic Fest and she picked this up and lent it to me. I will talk more about this one in a later post but I liked it a lot – it talks about really important things.
  4. Vivian Divine is Dead – Lauren Sabel
    Yeah, I did not like this one at all. I will talk more about later in the review. Two stars.

 

What am I currently reading? Why I thought you’d never ask!

  1. The Mother Tongue – Bill Bryson
    This book is really fascinating. As a writer, I feel like I’m learning so much about the language I’m writing in. Though I don’t quite agree with all the things he says when lauding English, I do think his investigation of the topic has been substantial.
  2. Crazy Rich Asians – Kevin Kwan
    Yeah, I am still only a 100 pages in. I wasn’t too motivated to pick this up last week but I hopefully manage to get two hundred or so pages read.
  3. Relish – Lucy Knisley
    I’m enjoying this one a lot so far. I will either review it here or at Cuddlebuggery.
  4. The Castle Behind Thorns – Merrie Haskell
    I love Haskell so I’m looking forward to reading more of this. The main character’s name is Sand and this keeps tripping me up because I keep thinking it’s sand and not Sand.

 

What else do I plan to read? The possibilities are endless. I probably won’t finish Crazy Rich Asians and I definitely won’t finish Mother Tongue but I do hope to finish Relish and The Castle Behind Thorns. After I’m done with those, I’ll read the other two graphic novels that were sent to me for review, read more of the comics lent to me by my friend Yash, see what else I’m in the mood for. I’m definitely a mood reader so I cannot always predict what I’ll be in the mood for. But that’s why reading’s fun. Anyway, I hope you all are having a great reading time.

6 thoughts on “The Reading Forecast

      1. No, but I don’t read MG. Like at all. The only MG book I own is The School of Good and Evil, and it remains as yet unread. I plan to get to it though. I don’t wanna begrudge myself a cool story just because it’s at a lower age range than I’m used to.

        It seems the older I get, the more I wanna read the Percy Jackson series, anyway haha.

        Like

          1. Oh really? Damn! I don’t remember that review? Haha – it figures I’d pick that one. The first book I read to give YA a chance was Hush, Hush. (You can imagine how that colored my perception of all YA for a while.)

            Guess you can kinda tell my history with first-picks isn’t all that great haha. Luckily I haven’t bought it yet so I may just go back on my mental never mind list.

            Like

            1. I didn’t review it. It made me SO angry that I just wanted to forget I had ever read it. I still shudder at the thought. Ughhh. I would recommend Frances Hardinge or Ysabeau S. Wilce if you want really awesome middle grade.

              Like

Leave a Reply

