reading forecast

The Reading Forecast!

Hello lovely people. I’ve been absent for almost a week which…I am sorry about. But Ramadan is over and so is Eid and all I’m doing now is the second set of revisions for my thesis and looking for a job (ugh, I feel depressed thinking about that now) and feeling angry about the ongoing tragedy that is Palestina and Gaza BUT I’m planning on reading lots. How else do I escape this world, huh?

I can’t promise to review every single book I read but are there is any that you guys want me to review, let me know and I shall make every effort to do. So, let’s talk about the books.

I am currently reading:

The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison

If you ignore the completely hideous cover, actually if you make a concentrated to ignore the cover, you will find the story inside to be quite readable. Kate Elliott (who wrote the Spiritwalker trilogy) recommended this book to me and I had seen the book and been turned off by the cover (so much so that it just wasn’t on my radar). I’m about a 106 pages in and really liking it so far. I will probably review this one because I feel not many people have read it and it should be read.

Worn: Stories – Edited by Emily Spivack

This is a collection of people’s stories about their attachment to a particular piece of clothing. I’m about 29 pages in and while there are some stories that are a fascinating commentary about a person’s relationship to objects, there are other stories which make me think that maybe the story shouldn’t have been in the collection. I will be reviewing this as well.

What I plan on reading…

There are some graphic novels I have out from the library that I should read before they come due. I also should probably finish The Secret Hum of a Daisy. For some reason, I haven’t been able to get into it. I am probably also going to read Elizabeth is Missing or start it and read it slowly as I think it’s a book that needs to be savoured. I also may be picking up the Seven Realms series sooner rather than later. All of the wonderful reviews and status updates have made me keep to read it again.

Of course how much I read depends on how much I want to go out and play or how fast I want to do all the edits on my thesis. But we’ll see.

 

Leave a Reply

