book haul · New on My Shelves · Roundups

July Book and Wrap-Up

July was a long month. Ramadan was this month and it was long and tough but I managed to get through it with my sanity mostly intact (the jury’s dubious on that verdict). I managed to read more than I had thought I would which surprises me. As far as new books are concerned, I was pretty good. I don’t think I bought more than two books this month, most of what was sent my way were review books. But more on that later. First, a list of the books I read last month:

  1. Life After God – Douglas Coupland
  2. Fukumenkei Noise – Ryoko Fukuyama (I read a scanlation and hope this gets picked up and licensed in English because I want it on my shelves.)
  3. Amphigorey Too – Edward Gorey
  4. The Interrogation of Ashala Wolf – Ambelin Kwaymullina
  5. Shaman Rises – C. E. Murphy (and yes, a series finished! Yay!)
  6. The Professor’s Daughter – Jonathan Sfar
  7. Exit Wounds – Rutu Modan
  8. We Are On Our Own: A Memoir – Miriam Katin
  9. The Book of Unknown Americans – Cristina Henriquez
  10. The Decoy Princess – Dawn Cook
  11. Princess At Sea – Dawn Cook
  12. The Zoo Box – Ariel Cohn
  13. Julia’s House for Lost Creatures – Ben Haatke
  14. Cursed Pirate Girl – Jeremy Bastian
  15. Nakanmon! vol. 1-4 – Haru Tsukishima
  16. Gone Girl – Gillian Flynn
  17. The Changeling Sea – Patricia McKillip
  18. The End of Mr. Y – Scarlett Thomas
  19. Mercury – Hope Larson
  20. The Magicians and Mrs Quent – Galen Beckett
  21. Monstrous Affections – Edited by Kelly Link
  22. Friends with Boys – Faith Erin Hicks
  23. The Wolf’s Whistle – Alex Spiro
  24. Personal Demons – Nimue Brown
  25. Blonde Ops – Charlotte Bennardo
  26. Picture Perfect – Holly Smale
  27. Bokura no Kiseki vol. 1-9 – Kumeta Natsuo

The list contains nonfiction, manga, graphic novels, YA, literary and adult genre fiction. I’d say I had a good enough reading month.  Now for the book haul!

Sent for review from RandomHouse Canada

bhj4

Ombria in Shadow and In The Forests of Serre – Patricia McKillip. Purchased from BetterWorldBooks
Stitching Snow – R. C. Lewis – For review from Hachette
A Barricade in Hell – Jamie Moyer – Unsolicited review copy from Tor

For review from First Second Books

For review from Simon & Schuster. Handed over to Yash.

The Night Gardener – Purchased

The Book of Three – Lloyd Alexander. For review from MacMillan.

6 thoughts on “July Book and Wrap-Up

  1. I had no idea another Murakami book was already out. I’ve been meaning to read Lloyd Alexander for ages (I go through phases of looking up my favourite author’s personal favourite books and Llloyd Alexander was on Garth Nix’s list.) Cue my fangirl squeal over Patricia McKillip’s books. I’m curious about In Real Life. How the virtual world is integrated into life fascinates me.

    Like

  2. Aaaah so many books! The Murakami book looks MAGNIFICENT. <3
    Also yes. Ramadan was definitely looooong this time but it was both fun and satisfying. Although I have to admit that it feels to be back to normal.

    Very curious about The Luminaries so I'm looking forward to your thoughts on that one. Happy Reading! :)

    Like

    1. Yes, I was missing Ramadan yesterday! There’s a peace in that month that the other months lack. Though this was one was so sad because of Gaza. Luminaries is huge and I will make my way through it (very slowly). But you shall get my thoughts on them eventually!

      Like

Leave a Reply

