reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

You guys, I want it to be fall so much. I hate the heat. Hate it. HATE IT. I have no idea how I survived in Fiji for the first seventeen years of my life. I am sleepy. The heat or maybe I just need to sleep more. Cuz I was up too late last night (this morning?) rereading Mockingjay and dude, I don’t know how I am going to stand watching people killing and getting killed. On that cheerful note, let’s talk reading and books and maybe my lack of presence on the blog these days. I’ll address that first. I find myself at an odd place in life right now and this is not at all conducive to writing. I flirted with the idea of closing this blog down and devoting all my energies to The Book Wars but I think Bibliophilic Monologues is much more representative of my eclectic reading taste than the other which focuses primarily on children’s lit. BM is a lot more personal and I am comfortable being as sparse or voluble as a I wish without being constrained by the image of a scholar in my mind. That is, I don’t mind sounding dumb here. Haha. Gosh, I am sleepy.

Last week was both a good reading week and a bad one. Good in the sense that I enjoyed the books I read. Bad as in I didn’t read many books.

Read last week:

  1. The Goblin Emperor – Katherine Addison
    Loved it. 5 stars. Will review it.
  2. The Secret Hum of a Daisy – Tracy Holczer
    Liked it. Beautiful writing. 3.75 stars. Review will be up.
  3. Heads of Tails – Lilli Carre
    Quirky. Pretty. Profound. 4 stars.

I am still reading:

22647204

I have found this collection is not something you can read continuously from cover to cover. You need to put it down, absorb the short stories and then move on. I hope to finish it this week.

I plan to read:

  1. Brutal Precious by Sara Wolf. I hope the ending to this series is satisfying. Because if it’s not, I’m going to displeased.
  2. A collection of Calvin and Hobbes comics by Bill Watterson.
  3. Both volumes of Hereville that I have out from the library.
  4. Scale-Bright – Benjanun Sriduangkaew
  5. The Accidental Key Hand: Ninja Librarians – Jen Swann Downey

Let’s see how many of these I actually read. What are you planning to read?

4 thoughts on “The Reading Forecast

  1. Your desire for Fall echoes my own. I am not a fan of Summer heat. Although this year I cannot complain as we have had such a mild Summer, with many days feeling closer to Spring. Still, I am quickly reaching the point where I desire shorter days and cooler temperatures and all the fun and festivities that come along with that time of year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

