instagram · picture challenges

100 Happy Book Days: Days 1-10

I thought that since my readers don’t all use Instagram, I’d share the first ten books I chose for the #100HappyBookDays challenge I’m doing on instagram. If you haven’t yet heard/read me talking about it,ย check out the details and participate!

The History Of Love by Nicole Krauss. Perhaps my favourite book ever. The reason i love it is because it is because the writing is so evocative. The words feel like the truth. It's heart wrenching and made me cry on the bus but it was worth it.
The History Of Love by Nicole Krauss. Perhaps my favourite book ever. The reason i love it is because it is because the writing is so evocative. The words feel like the truth. It’s heart wrenching and made me cry on the bus but it was worth it.

Calvin amd Hobbes by Bill Watterson. Calvin's thoughts and interactions with Hobbes though couched in humour are profound at times. Watterson captured childhood so perfectly in his comic strip and juxtaposed it brilliantly with an adult cynicism that served the medium well.
Calvin amd Hobbes by Bill Watterson. Calvin’s thoughts and interactions with Hobbes though couched in humour are profound at times. Watterson captured childhood so perfectly in his comic strip and juxtaposed it brilliantly with an adult cynicism that served the medium well.
A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary For Lovers by Xiaolu Guo. This book is beatiful and complex that it invites different readings and if you love analyzing stuff this book will make you happy. It plays with language, written from the perspective of someone who starts off with barely any English and improves dramatically by the end. I love it for the sheer beauty in it.
A Concise Chinese-English Dictionary For Lovers by Xiaolu Guo. This book is beatiful and complex that it invites different readings and if you love analyzing stuff this book will make you happy. It plays with language, written from the perspective of someone who starts off with barely any English and improves dramatically by the end. I love it for the sheer beauty in it.
Day 4: Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery. I loved this when I first read it when I was a kid and rereading it as an adult just reaffirmed my love for Anne Shirley and the beautiful world she lived in.
Day 4: Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery. I loved this when I first read it when I was a kid and rereading it as an adult just reaffirmed my love for Anne Shirley and the beautiful world she lived in.
Day 5: The Arrival by Shaun Tan. This graphic novel wordlessly manages to depict with verisimilitude and sensitivity immigrant experience. The surreal art is phenomenal to the extent that it manages to make language unnecessary when telling the story. The sepia colours and the use of shadows are amazing. The fantastic element goes a long way to evoke the strangeness of the new landscape. I love this a whole lot.
Day 5: The Arrival by Shaun Tan. This graphic novel wordlessly manages to depict with verisimilitude and sensitivity immigrant experience. The surreal art is phenomenal to the extent that it manages to make language unnecessary when telling the story. The sepia colours and the use of shadows are amazing. The fantastic element goes a long way to evoke the strangeness of the new landscape. I love this a whole lot.
Day 6: Generation X by Douglas Coupland. The writing in this made me catch my breath and wonder how my truths were being spoken by someone else. The novel catches the liminal lives of people exactly.
Day 6: Generation X by Douglas Coupland. The writing in this made me catch my breath and wonder how my truths were being spoken by someone else. The novel catches the liminal lives of people exactly.
Day 7: I've always liked travel memoirs but this one is in a league of its own. The text is limited but the artist manages to capture something quintessentially Japanese in his drawings of the landscapes he experienced...cityscapes? The art is bright and so very gorgeous.
Day 7: I’ve always liked travel memoirs but this one is in a league of its own. The text is limited but the artist manages to capture something quintessentially Japanese in his drawings of the landscapes he experienced…cityscapes? The art is bright and so very gorgeous.
Day 8: Real World by Natsuo Kirino. This book is about four girls and one boy, all high school students. The boy kills his mother and flees and the girls develop an unhealthy obsession with him. The book is chilling and a discourse on adolescence and the lengths kids will go to escape the ennui that's gripping their generation.
Day 8: Real World by Natsuo Kirino. This book is about four girls and one boy, all high school students. The boy kills his mother and flees and the girls develop an unhealthy obsession with him. The book is chilling and a discourse on adolescence and the lengths kids will go to escape the ennui that’s gripping their generation.
Day 9: How To by Julie Morstad. People often mistake picturebooks as being books meant strictly for younger readers and thus miss out on the pleasure of reading something that looks simple but is in fact a complex art form. How To expresses in beautiful art and minimal prose how children see the world. I would argue that this book is for adults, to remind them of the beauty of childhood and to keep them in touch with their adventurous and creative sides.
Day 9: How To by Julie Morstad. People often mistake picturebooks as being books meant strictly for younger readers and thus miss out on the pleasure of reading something that looks simple but is in fact a complex art form. How To expresses in beautiful art and minimal prose how children see the world. I would argue that this book is for adults, to remind them of the beauty of childhood and to keep them in touch with their adventurous and creative sides.
Day 10: This One Summer by Jillian and Mariko Tamaki. This graphoc captures the essence of summer and friendship perfectly. The story is told delicately and with sensitivity. And the art is superlative. I love it.
Day 10: This One Summer by Jillian and Mariko Tamaki. This graphoc captures the essence of summer and friendship perfectly. The story is told delicately and with sensitivity. And the art is superlative. I love it.
Leave a Reply

