reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

The defence is now 16 days away (leaving today and the 18th). Wheeee. I should actually start preparing for it now. I mean, I have the first draft. Maybe I should happy-fy is. I don’t know. Something.

Also, I lost my Kindle and I don’t know when I’m going to be able to replace it due to paying my tuition and being poorer than a field mouse if field mice dealt with money and not things field mice like to eat. So I probably won’t be getting to those e-galleys for some time. I’m sorry.

Also, I apologise for the emo-post. It was in no way a cry for attention. I was just letting off some steam. Thank you for the kind words anyway.

Okay, now to the more important things. Stuff I read this past week:

  • And the Pursuit of Happiness – Maira Kalman
    Honestly, this was a bit disappointing. The art was fabulous. The content, not so much.
  • Elizabeth is Missing – Emma Healey
    This was fantastic. You will be seeing a review of this.
  • Child of a Hidden Sea – A. D. Dellamonica
    I didn’t think I was going to like this initially but it completely won me over by the end.
  • Twelve Minutes to the End – Christoper Edge
    This was okay. Dragged a bit at the end.
  • The Little Black Book of Writer’s Wisdom – Edited by Stephen Price
    Sound advice. My only quibble was that it featured a lot of white male authors.
  • The Outside – Laura Bickle
    I don’t know. I liked it well enough but it lacked the intensity (weirdly) of the first book.
  • The Hen Who Dreamed She Could Fly – Sun-Mi Hwang
    Oh this slayed me. Like seriously, it KILLED me. And I’m not going to review it because there’s no way I could properly convey to you how simple yet beautiful this book. It’s profound, you guys. Do yourselves a favour and read it.

 

Currently Reading

24780

The Book of Three by Lloyd Alexander
This is actually a lie because I have yet to read a page. It’s not very long though so I should be able to finish it in a couple of hours.

Now for the exciting bit. What I plan to read this coming week.

Hmmmm….

  1. Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
    This one is out from the library and they want it back in two weeks so I’m going to have to read it fast.
  2. The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy – Kate Hattemer
    The same reason as above.
  3. Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn
    One of the physical review copies that need reading.
  4. Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater
    Ditto
  5. The Quick by Lauren Owen
    I’m going to start this one but I’m not sure how much of it I’m going to be able to read. It’s a beast.
Leave a Reply

