favourites · paranormal · review · YA

Crushed (Soul Eaters #2) by Eliza Crewe

20256261

Kindle Edition
Published August 5th 2014 by Strange Chemistry
(well okay, this wasn’t published since Strange Chemistry went out of business.)

The title of this follow up to Cracked perfectly describes my feelings when I found out that Strange Chemistry was going defunct and would no longer be printing this title and the last one in this trilogy. This novel contains all the things I want a paranormal YA novel to contain: a smart heroine, strong friendships and an alternate way of thinking about romance.

I loved Cracked because Medea is so unlike the usual protagonist. Her sassiness is perfectly balanced by her acceptance of her monstrous nature. In this book, there is an important discourse on the nature of friendship and acceptance: is it friendship if your friend only accepts you for what they think you are, what they want you to be?

Another important discussion in this novel is one about romance. How much are you willing to compromise of who you truly are to win someone else’s affections? How much are you willing to sacrifice? What is romance to you? I really enjoyed this novel and I will come back to it later when I reread both the first and the second. Crewe has promised to find a way to get the third in the trilogy out to her readers so we’ll just have to sit tight and hope that Medea has a chance to shine once again.

One thought on “Crushed (Soul Eaters #2) by Eliza Crewe

  1. Hm! Seems to me like Strange Chemistry was putting out a lot of actually really good YA books before they went kaput. This one’s interesting. I’ve added it to my TBR already (apparently) but good thing because I think I’ll like it quite a lot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

