reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Three days till thesis defence, you guys. I am both nervous and a bit nauseous because of reasons. But let’s not get into that until I absolutely have to. What I want to talk about is reading and how I’m enjoying reading so much after such a long time. I have given myself permission to read what I want to when I want to so even though I have books to review, they’re all books I want to read. I think having my Kindle stolen may have been a good thing because loss aside, it made me realize just how much I love reading physical books. There’s something to be said for convenience and the ease with which you can take books everywhere with a Kindle but if you are a tactile person like me, then feeling the page, the actual page and not a virtual manifestation of one, is priceless.

Books I Read Last Week:

  1. Complicit by Stephanie Kuehn
    I’ll do a review of this but I didn’t actually like it as much as I had hoped to.
  2. Hyperbole and a Half by Allie Brosh
    This was fantastic. 5 stars.
  3. It by Alexa Chung
    Eh. 2.5
  4. Will O’the Wisp by Tom Hammock
    I liked this. The art was beautiful and the story solid. 4 stars.
  5. Sinner by Maggie Stiefvater
    Cole was fun. 4 stars.
  6. Skip Beat 3 in 1 vol. 22-23-24 by Yoshiki Nakamura
    I love Skip Beat so this was an automatic 5 stars for me.
  7. Cast in Flame – Michelle Sagara
    The only thing that saved this one from being 2 stars is my hope that the next one will be better.
  8. Burn Bright by Bethany Frenette
    I enjoyed this quite a bit. 4 stars.
  9. The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy by Kate Hattermer
    I enjoyed this somewhat.

Currently Reading

  1. The Cabinet of Curiousities by Stefan Bachmann et al
    This is to my liking. Short themed stories. The book is huge so it’s going to take me a while to get through but I figure a story a day will suffice.
  2. Moth and Spark by Anne Leonard
    I haven’t actually started this one but there are dragons.

To Read in the Upcoming Week

When I finish Vigilante Poets, I think I’ll slip back into fantasy. I’m thinking about reading any of the following:

  1. Nightingale’s Nest by Nikki Loftin
  2. The Riverman by Aaron Starmer
  3. Seconds by Bryan Lee O’Malley
Leave a Reply

