lists

Reading Reflections #1

I’m at a strange place in life. You could say in limbo. Even where reading is concerned. What prompts this post is my desire to read diversely – well, I’ve always read diversely but I want to read more books that people shy away from because of whatever reason. But I want to read books that I find interesting and not just to prove a point. I have been reading mostly fantasy these past few weeks because that’s the genre I love the most and I desperately need an escape from the monotony of my days, of the uncertainty in them. Fantasy lets me escape and sometimes all you need is to leave everything, even yourself, behind.

However, it occurs to me that the works of literature are vast and offer so many different things and so many different ways of escape and I should avail myself to more than one of them. To that intent, I have chosen the following novels that will, hopefully, let me explore other venues of literature and maybe find me new favourites. I’m not sure how soon I will get to any of them but I do know that I will make the effort.

1. The Complete Stories – Franz Kafka

I read The Metamorphosis for an English class and never really got over the elegance of the prose, the impact of the emotion clothed so beautifully in sentences whose beauty remained even through the translation. I want to see if any of his other stories resonate with me in the same way.

2. Gender Trouble – Judith Butler

I’m really curious about this one and I even have the book so there is no reason for me to not pick this one up sooner rather than later.

3. The Butterfly Mosque – G. Willow Wilson

I’ve loved all of Wilson’s writing so far and I have yet to read a memoir. And this one in particular seems like one I will empathize with.

4. Breakfast of Champions – Kurt Vonnegut

I just want to read one Vonnegut book before I die. Even if I hate it, I want to read it.

5. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath

This would be a reread but I first read it when I was so young. I don’t even remember much of it apart from the sentence “I collect strange men” or something to the effect. I think a reread is in order.

6. Hotel World – Ali Smith

I read the first page recently and that was all it took. I must read this one soon.

7. The Icarus Girl by Helen Oyeyemi

Because.

8. On Beauty by Zadie Smith

I want to know what the fuss is all about.

9. Lady Chatterley’s Lover – D. H. Lawrence

I read the first few pages of this and was mightily intrigued.

10. The Secret History – Donna Tartt

Again, I want to know what the fuss is all about.

One thought on “Reading Reflections #1

Leave a Reply

