Humour · Nonfiction · review · Review Copy

Twitter: The Comic (The Book): Comics Based on the Greatest Tweets of Our Generation by Mike Rosenthal: A Review

20405524

Paperback, 144 pages
Published August 19th 2014 by Chronicle Books
Source: Publisher

I have been in the mood for some light, humourous reads and this book definitely falls under that categoary. Mike Rosenthal archives (presumably) and then draws comics based on the tweets that he calls the greatest tweets of our generation – however, since Twitter has only been in existence for just one generation, take that with a grain of salt. The collection is sometimes funny but I think what would have served the collection better is if the tweets that inspired the comics were included. Because these tweets are what inspired the comics, I feel like without them the book is lacking.

Also, the humour. I like to think I have a sense of humour and that I understand what funniness is about but honestly, a lot of the comics left me bewildered. I’m not sure if it’s an American thing or a culture difference but I just didn’t find a lot of the comics funny. I didn’t even get what they were referring or whether they were alluding to something.

Therefore I cannot really be a judge of whether they were truly funny. I mean, if you were to ask me, I’d say some of them were, most of them weren’t.

Funny:

tumblr_n8d3u10c6J1rlynuno1_1280

What?

tumblr_n1kk7nv9HE1rlynuno1_1280

2 thoughts on “Twitter: The Comic (The Book): Comics Based on the Greatest Tweets of Our Generation by Mike Rosenthal: A Review

  1. I think I get the second tweet. I don’t know if you know about the slang term “bun in the oven” but it means to be pregnant. From what I understand the doctor wants to eat the baby. I find that more disturbing than funny though so I hope I am wrong.

    I will be skipping that book.

    Like

    1. Oh yikes. That was…interesting. A lot of the comics are like this so I probably don’t get it because I’m not too well versed in the pop culture of the times so references go way over my head.

      Like

Leave a Reply

