nanowrimo blogging · writing

NanoWriMo Day 2

I managed to write chapter 2 and I cannot believe how much it sucks. I have yet to find my footing in the story, my sense of characters and so, though I’m satisfied with chapter one, I am not with 2. Therefore, I cannot move on until I have rewritten it and come up with something that I like.

I find that I, I don’t know about other writers, need to get the first few chapters as close to perfect as I can before moving on to the rest of the story. Because the first few chapters set the tone of the story, if I don’t rewrite them about a million times, I cannot grasp the characters I’m writing about and then things are doubly difficult.

My protagonist is a stranger to me right now. That’s the problem I am facing. I spent the first book in her head but then she changed and I’m all…hmmmmmm. She changes in an irrevocable way (that’s all I can say without giving things away) so this is all very complicated.

5 thoughts on “NanoWriMo Day 2

  1. Ah that sucks. I know the feeling, but I usully just push through the crap. It actually helps me to get a better grasp on the character, to learn as they learn, what their reactions and thoughts, etc. are like. And then I rewrite after. It makes for one hell of a revision process, though, I’ll tell you that much.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. “My protagonist is a stranger to me right now. That’s the problem I am facing. I spent the first book in her head but then she changed and I’m all…hmmmmmm. She changes in an irrevocable way (that’s all I can say without giving things away) so this is all very complicated.”

    Oh yeah, I could have written this paragraph. This is me right now. Sequels are hard :(

    Plus I kind of have two protagonists which makes it doubly hard to keep track of everything. They need to change but I don’t always know what the change should look like.

    Good luck!! :)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

