nanowrimo blogging

NaNoWriMo Blogging: Day 4

I skipped day three because I was busy writing. Day 4 I haven’t written anything yet but I have ascertained that I am somewhat satisfied with chapter 2 and can, therefore, move on.

I have been sending out query letters for the first book and getting a whole slew of rejections and that’s…well…disheartening. It affects my enthusiasm for the whole business of publishing not because I think my book is super splendid and should be accepted by anyone with taste but because it is difficult to maintain your self-esteem in the face of constant failure. Know what I mean?

I know the book isn’t terrible. If it was, my thesis supervisor would have said so. She isn’t the kind of person who’d tell me work is good just to soothe my ego. Bah. Let’s forget that and move on to the writing part.

My friend Yash said that writing is an exercise in masochism and that is so true. It’s agonizing and I don’t use the word lightly. I wonder why I do it every time I sit down in front of a blank page and face my monsters. But chapter 3 promises to be more interesting because we’ve gotten the confrontations and conversations over with and I can move on to new and fun things.

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo Blogging: Day 4

  1. Query letter rejections aren’t failures! They mean that either 1) it’s just not a good fit for your project (which is a good thing–you don’t want someone to take on your work who doesn’t get it) or 2) that your pitch needs to be stronger. Query letters are sales pitches and sales pitches are HARD! I have tons of published articles and reports and such and sales copy is far harder than any of those things.

    End of pep talk! :)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I’m sorry you have to go through this slew of rejections, but a) your book is awesome so therefore, b) this is temporary. No giving up! <3

    Like

  3. Ah rejections. I’m feeling you on that front, although in my case it is perhaps a little less painful than frustrating. There’s no point in investing your heart and soul into an audition…when you’re getting rejected from being able to audition. (I’m getting some resume help asap haha!). But it really does get disheartening. Hopefully it will get picked up soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

