reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

So I have come to the conclusion that writing is very bad for reading. Your head is so full of your own story that you do not have space for anyone else’s. This sucks because I have some potentially wonderful reads out from the library and no desire to read them. If I keep waffling, the due date will be upon me and I will have to return them unread. I hate doing that. So I’m going to do my best though it is very slow going.

Let’s take a look at what I read last week:

  1. The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place – Julie Berry
    While certain elements in this book did upset me, on the whole, I had fun reading it.
  2. The Little Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupery
    I know this is a well-loved classic but I didn’t care for it at all.I mean, it was okay but I wouldn’t write panegyrics to it.
  3. The Seat of Magic by J. Kathleen Cheney
    The romance does take a lot of attention here but I did like the way the culture came to the forefront. The magical creatures is fascinating.

I am currently reading:

  1. Tiger Moon – Antonia Michaelis
    I’m enjoying this. It took a while to pick up for me but my dad is probably enjoying it more than I am. Ha. I should hopefully finish it by the end of the coming week. I read one chapter per night out loud to my dad.
  2. The Gods of Amyrantha by Jennifer Fallon
    This is the second one in the Tide Lord series. The book is incredibly easy to read and does not contain the dense description and worldbuilding I normally associate with epic fantasy. I’m only 48 pages with about 440 to go. Hopefully I can finish this by the end of the week.

What I Plan to Read:

I don’t think I’ll be doing much reading, honestly. Not if I want to write as well. I’m going to take a break from writing but then I’m afraid if I do, I won’t get back into it again. Still, the worst that can happen is having to return the books and I can always request them at a later date.

But my brain is hungry for some more cerebral read. Something like The End of Mr. Y. Something twisted and just intelligent. Maybe I’ll read nonfiction or more probably I’ll pick up the last Yoko Ogawa book on my tbr shelf, Hotel Iris. We’ll see.

One thought on “The Reading Forecast

  1. Can I just say you’re a Reading Beast :) And I mean that in the best way possible! I wish I could read like you! The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place has such a great cover and the name is so awesome! I’m kind of intrigued by it now. I hope NanoWrimo is going well for you!! It’s hard to come back from not writing for a long time. I feel like that with reviews…but once you make that first step I guess it’s easier. Have a fabulous week Nafiza!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

