reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Last week was a slow plodding week where reading is concerned. It’s probably because I’m not liking the books I am reading or because they are heavier than my usual fare but whatever it is, I’m not feeling reading at the moment.Here’s what I did manage to read:

  1. The Gods of Amyrantha by Jennifer Fallon
    Decided to stop with the series here as I read some major spoilers (willingly) and let’s just say, I would have been angry had I gotten more invested in the characters.
  2. IraqiGirl: Diary of a Teenage Iraqi Girl
    This one was sobering. An eye opener and a heartbreaker.
  3. Uri Appa Chwegoya. Or in English, My Dad is Awesome. The Korean translation of My Dad by Anthony Brown
    This was very cute. Lots of humour. Plus, the Korean was easy enough to read. I figure I can work my way up to reading the more complex books.
  4. Today is the Last Day of the Rest of Your Life by Ulli Lust
    Did not like this one at all. Ugh.
  5. Julia, Child by Kyo Maclear and Julie Morstad
    All sorts of adorable things happening here.

I’m currently reading:

  1. Tiger Moon by Antonia Michaelis
    Yeah, still reading it. I was going to finish this yesterday but every time I read a paragraph, I would start coughing and my mom  banished me. Should finish it this week.
  2. The Walled City by Ryan Graudin
    The story moves quickly enough. Split perspectives give me pause and marked lack of worldbuilding. Still, the writing is pretty.

What I Plan on Reading:

*shrug*

I have this super wicked cough which makes sleeping impossible so I can’t function properly or as humans do. Zombie impressions are me right now. NaNoWriMo is not happening for me anymore but it’s put me on track to writing Book Two which is good so I will continue writing it.

I’m reading like five pages of Judith Butler’s Gender Trouble so there’s that. It will take me months to finish it but at least I’m reading it. I’ll probably read some graphic novels. I have one out from the library that I need to get done. Some picturebooks I need to read and schedule reviews of. As I said before, I’m sick so not feeling reading at the moment. We’ll see. I’ll probably pick something up when I feel like it. I don’t know if I’ll finish Walled City this week either. Gah.

Leave a Reply

