reading resolutions

Reading Resolutions: 2015

I have been composing this post for a long time. It has gone through several incarnations as I went on a tangent without regard to my original topic and ended up talking about…I don’t know, bears in Milan or something like that.

Anyway, reading resolutions. I have them. I began the year reading four demanding and chunky novels that I cannot easily finish. And oddly, when I see friends on Goodreads talking about first reads of 2015, I have a sense of anxiety; it feels likeΒ  I’m losing in some sort of race. I’m pretty sure reading is not a race and it is not how much but what you read that matters.

I know all that but I wish I could finish a book and get the ball rolling. :\

Let’s talk about which books I want to read in particular this year. There are 12 in particular…actually, 11 now. They are:

  1. South of the Border, West of the Sun by Haruki Murakami
    I have a personal goal to finish reading all of Murakami’s works that have been translated into English so far. I think this may just be the 10th one. Maybe? I don’t know.
  2. I am a Cat by Soseki Natsume
    I have a copy of this and it is pretty darned dense but the premise engages me. A book written from the perspective of a cat. We’ll see.
  3. 1984 by George Orwell
    I have this really beautiful copy that will make this reading this dystopian a little less sad.
  4. Letters to a Young Poet – Rainer Maria Rilke
    After seeing so many quotes from him, I’m finally going to take the plunge and just do it.
  5. The Butterfly Mosque – G. Willow Wilson
    I have read almost all her other works and this one, my mother tells me, is extremely wonderful.
  6. Shantaram – Gregory David Roberts
    This one is so huge I’m sort of dreading it but some of my friends really love it so I am going to do it. This one has one of the most compelling opening paragraphs I’ve had the fortune to read.
  7. The Awakening and Selected Short Fiction by Kate Chopin
    I had Beauvoir’s The Second Sex in this place originally but I’m currently reading another feminist theory text at the moment and I don’t think I can handle the dense academic language twice in a year. :\
  8. Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence
    I actually read a chapter of this and really liked it so this year I’m going to read the whole thing.
  9. Gender Trouble by Judith Butler
    I am currently reading this.
  10. Franz Kafka: The Complete Stories
    I’ve only read one story by Kafka so I’m excited to buck down and give the others a try.
  11. Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut
    I’ve wanted to read a Vonnegut book for a long time now, particularly this title so I will this year.

Other than these books, there are many series I need to finish–I won’t go into any in detail but there are many that I want to finish.

I think mostly though, I want to read what I want when I want to instead of feeling obligated to read to keep up in some imaginary race. I want to choose the books that speak to me rather than books that are popular and hyped. I will probably, knowing myself, be convinced to read books because of hype but I hope to be above that this year. Haha.

Oh, I also aim to read a lot of fantasy this year. Specifically, fantasy penned by women that have female protagonists. That’s like catnip for me. I can’t resist it.

What are you reading resolutions/plans for 2015?

3 thoughts on “Reading Resolutions: 2015

  1. I love Murakami. I’m way behind on his books, but they will be there waiting for me.

    I can completely understand your “race” feelings, it does sometimes feel like a race to get books read. In fact, I picked up a short book just to finish so I myself could get a read in for 2015. Which is silly (though I enjoyed the book). I’m not in a race.

    Hope you have a relaxing, enjoyable reading year.

    Like

    1. You too! I just finished my first read of 2015. A whomper at 544 pages. It wasn’t bad but boy am I glad to have a book read this year. Murakami’s old stuff is more to my liking it seems than his newer stuff but his writing feels like home now. I’m always glad to read his books regardless of the story. Happy reading!

      Like

Leave a Reply

