reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

I think I finished about six books last week. I’m not sure but I definitely read the following:

  1. What I Talk About When I Talk About Running – Haruki Murakami
    I enjoyed this and gave it four stars.
  2. Everything by Lynda Barry
    This was amusing as well. This got 3.5 stars.
  3. The Vault of Dreamers by Caragh O’Brien
    This was a seriously quick read for me. Fast paced and engaging, I enjoyed it quite a bit. Four stars.
  4. Princess Decomposia and Count Spatula by Andi Watson
    I really enjoyed this one. It was charming and funny. Four stars.
  5. The Quick by Lauren Owen
    This was interesting. A vampire tale, most unexpectedly. I’ll be reviewing this. 3 stars.
  6. The Witch’s Boy by Kelly Barnhill
    I LOVED this. 4.5 stars. I’ll be reviewing on The Book Wars.

There were some titles that I gave up on. One was The Ghosts of Heaven and I tried to stick with the book but it just wasn’t for me. It’s written really well and does great things with the subject it pursues but I was dreading reading it and well, I stopped. I’m going to ask if one of my friends wants to read it. I also changed my mind about The Visitors by Rebecca Mascull. At this point in time, I just don’t feel like reading it. I’ve lost interest in it. Maybe some other day.

Now for what I’m currently reading:

King’s Dragon by Kate Elliott

I’m really liking this one. I love Elliott’s writing so I wasn’t afraid of that but the protagonist is a male and that gave me pause. However, I’m pleased to report that Alain (the protagonist) is very relatable. I like him and can empathize with his issues.

This is a big book (544 pages) so I don’t know how long it will take me to finish it but once I do, I’ll go back and finish:

GreenGlass House by Kate Milford

I like the book; the pacing of it was just too slow for me so I put it aside for a bit. I’m sure that I’ll tear through it when I go back to it but I’ll need to be done with it before the last Wednesday of the month as I need to review it.

Once I’m done with that, I will read The City of Dreaming Books by Walter Moers. I’m looking forward to this one because it seems crazily amusing. I doubt I’ll be done with all three in one week though. I’m reading at a slower pace, savouring the books instead of gulping them down.

I’m looking forward to them though. I hope you are liking your reads!

Leave a Reply

