review

Three Second Book Reviews

The Lotus Palace by Jeannie Lin

17348286 3.5 stars. This was a surprise. More sombre in tone than I expected it to be. I liked the fact that it focused a lot on the plight of the courtesans in the era from a sympathetic point of view. The protagonist was very likable. The hero was not. The ending was too neat and too deus ex machina-esque for my liking.

 

A Bollywood Affair by Sonali Dev

177077870 stars. Ugh. No. See my spoilery review.

 

 

 

We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

236025695 stars. Basically a transcription of her TED talk but has no less compact for the change in medium. I still agree so hard with all she says.

 

 

 

Owl and the Japanese Circus – Kristi Charish

232131973 stars. Enjoyed this but the prose was a bit too dry for my liking. The protagonist too got on my nerves after a bit. Still, she wasn’t too bad and I liked the friendship angle so I’ll be giving the second one a chance.

 

 

Girl Talk – Christie Young

193473023 stars. Practical and amusing and nothing you would need if you are equipped with some common sense and Google. Packaged very nicely though.

 

 

How a Mother Weaned Her Girl From Fairy Tales and Other Stories by Kate Bernheimer

185279933 stars. It was a bit too sparse and lacked the poetry I like in this kind of writing. Some of the vignettes had more impact than others. Still, not Bernheimer’s best, I think.

 

 

 

20483085Poisoned Apples – Christine Heppermann

4 stars. I liked the focus on physical looks and dieting extra but felt it was a little too focused on them and didn’t pay enough attention to other problematic elements in fairytales. Still, I liked the beauty of the poetry and the starkness of them.

 

Leave a Reply

