book haul · Roundups

February Wrap-Up and Book Haul

February was a bag of mixed tricks for me. I read a lot and then I read a particular book and it threw me into despair and I no longer felt like reading (1984). Guh. So I read manga. A lot of it. That helped me get over my reading slump.ย  So here they are, the books I read this month:

  1. Prince of Dogs – Kate Elliott
  2. Girl Talk – Christie Young
  3. Owl and the Japanese Circus – Kristi Charish
  4. We Should All Be Feminists – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  5. A Bollywood Affair – Sonali Dev
  6. The Lotus Palace – Jeannie Lin
  7. Amulet vol 6. – Kazu Kibuishi
  8. The Ill-Made Mute – Cecelia Dart-Thornton
  9. An Inquiry into Love and Death – Simone St. James
  10. Alphabetique – Molly Peacock
  11. Copper Magic – Julia Mary Gibson
  12. Friendship Is… – Lisa Swerling
  13. The Vine Basket – Josanne La Valley
  14. Ravencliffe – Carol Goodman
  15. Lark Rising – Sandra Waugh
  16. Beastkeeper – Cat Hellisen
  17. Freedom’s Gate – Naomi Kritzer
  18. Cocaine Blues – Kerry Greenwood
  19. Peace is an Offering – Annette LeBox
  20. Path of Fate – Diana Pharaoh Francis
  21. Midnight Thief – Livia Blackburne
  22. I Will Fight Monsters For You – Santi Balmes
  23. Kamisama Kiss vol 2-19 – Suzuki Julietta (ahem)
  24. 1984 – George Orwell
  25. Murder Most Unladylike – Robin Stevens

My favourite book of the month: Freedom’s Gate by Naomi Kritzer.
Least liked book was A Bollywood Affair by Sonali Dev.
Longest book was Prince of Dogs by Kate Elliott at 625 pages.

Book Haul

I decided to film a blurry low quality haul on my webcam even though I have a perfectly good DSL camera because too much work and I’m not that invested. Anyway, here it is:

It’s long, rambly and mumbled so in case you didn’t want to sit through (snerk, no one should want to, I caress books a lot), you can visit my book tumblr here dedicated to showcasing books I receive in 2015. http://bibliophileblues.tumblr.com/

If you just want a list of books, I will indulge you. Here ya go:

Books for Review

  1. A Teacup Collection by Molly Hatch
  2. Valiant by Sarah McGuire
  3. The Lie Tree – Frances Hardinge
  4. I Will Fight Monsters For You – Santi Balmes
  5. The Sculptor – Scott McCloud
  6. The Word Exchange – Alena Graedon
  7. Salad Love – David Bez
  8. Peace is an Offeringย  – Annette LeBox
  9. The Battle of Versailles – Robin Givhan
  10. Life. Love. Beauty – Keegan Allen
  11. One More Thing – B. J. Novak

Birthday Presents

  1. Unmade by Sarah Rees Brennan
  2. Through the Woods – Emily Carroll
  3. A Little Princess – Frances Hodgson Burnett
  4. Anne of Green Gables – L. M. Montgomery
  5. Saga vol 4. – Brian K Vaughn
  6. Bad Feminist – Roxane Gay
  7. In the Afterlight – Alexandra Bracken
  8. Into the Grey – Celine Kiernan
  9. The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams
  10. The Ghosts of Heaven – Marcus Sedgwick

Purchased

  1. The Glasswright’s Test – Mindy Klasky
  2. We Should All Be Feminists – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
5 thoughts on “February Wrap-Up and Book Haul

  1. I love book hauls – lots of beautiful books :-D The Puffin in Bloom editions are my favourites! I wish they published all of the well-known classics in those editions. Happy belated birthday, by the way :-D I hope you had a lovely day and I hope you enjoy all of your new books (definitely the best birthday gifts you could have asked for haha!).
    P.s – I love your scarf in the video.

    Like

    1. Thank you! I too like the Puffin in Bloom books quite a bit. The Rifle Paper company is also doing Alice in Wonderland so that’s something to look forward to. Thank you, the scarf is also a gift from a friend all the way from Oman!

      Like

Leave a Reply

