reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Oh dear. It’s Monday again. And I had such a reading week this past week. A book made me almost swear off reading altogether (I’m exaggerating) and yeah. I read a lot of manga to get my feels back into place. But here they are, without further ado, the books I read last week:

  1. I Will Fight Monsters for You by Santi Balmes (3 stars)
  2. 19 volumes of Kamisama Kiss by Suzuki Julietta
    I know. I just couldn’t read anymore of this other book.)
  3. 1984 by George Orwell
    I do not enjoy reading about torture. I don’t. I understand that this book is important for the questions it raises and the themes it discusses but it was not for me.
  4. Finding Serendipity by Angelica Banks
    I liked this one. I will be reviewing it at the Book Wars on Tuesday.
  5. Murder Most Unladylike by Robin Stevens
    I enjoyed this quite a bit.
  6. Pennyroyal Academy by M. A. Larson
    I did not like this one at all. Ugh.

So huzzah, I finally finished the monstrous 1984. I learned a good lesson from this. If I’m not enjoying a book but force myself to finish it, I will fall headfirst into a reading slump. It’s not even “not enjoying” but I was actually dreading reading this book. I hated it. I don’t usually have visceral reactions towards book–okay, I don’t often–but this book made me sad in real life. Gah. Never again.

What I’m Currently Reading:

Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates
1984 was heavy enough for me to not feel like wading into this one but I’m going to continue it this week. I’m still only 80 pages in but the writing style is engaging and the issues current so I should be able to make some headway into the book this upcoming week.

Thorn Jack – Katherine Harbour
This is a fae story and so far it’s pretty compelling. I’m only 60 pages but it’s only 328 pages so I don’t foresee it taking me too long to complete. I don’t think.

What I Plan to Read

  1. A Teacup Collection – Molly Hatch
  2. The Ugly One – Leanne Statland Ellis
  3. Gretel and the Dark – Eliza Granville
Leave a Reply

