lists

Trilogies, Duologies, Quartets: Books I Haven’t (and need to) Read

(Technically, the title is weird because “read” will need to be read differently depending on the words attached to it but ehhhhh. Just go with it.)

After lots of deliberation and thought, I decided I would blog about series. I’ve been wanting to blog about something for the past few days and I even drafted some posts but it all petered out…and the blog remained un-updated. So here I am. Updating. About series.

There are a LOT of them. I even have a page dedicated to series I am currently reading but it makes me really sad because there are a lot of them. Sigh. So here’s how we’re going to do it.

I’m going to focus on books I own that are part of a series but that I, despite the best intentions, haven’t read yet. It will happen. It just hasn’t happened yet.

  1. Clariel by Garth Nix
    I bought this, you know? I am excited about this. So why I haven’t read it yet, I don’t know. I really don’t.
  2. A Lion Among Men and Out of Oz both by Gregory Maguire
    Yeah. Hmm. This will happen. Soonish. Some day. Yep.
  3. Bloody Jack #2 to #12 – L. A. Meyer
    I keep on meaning to start reading these again but somehow review books keep taking a giant share of my reading time and I am left with no time. I think I’ll just have to prioritize these to get them read.
  4. The Rebel Prince – Celine Kiernan
    This is the last one in the Moorehawke trilogy. It’s on my shelf! :\
  5. Inheritance by Christopher Paolini
    Yeah. I don’t know if I want to read it anymore but I have the book and it would be the saddest not to read it cuz, you know?
  6. Percy Jackson and theย  Olympians #2-#5 – Rick Riordan
    This needs to happen this year because I’m going to send my copies of the books to my niece in Fiji.
  7. The Kronos Chronicles #2-#3 by Marie Rutkoski
    I think this MG fantasy series is by far superior to anything YA she has written so I’m excited about finishing this.
  8. Seven Realms quartet by Cinda Williams Chima
    I need to reread the first two to read the last two. I want to. I really want to. I just haven’t made the time for them yet.
  9. Vampire Academy #3 to #6 by Richelle Mead
    I think the time for them is coming. I think. I’m not sure.
  10. The Shadowed Sun by N. K. Jemisin
    This one will be read this year.
  11. Shadow Scale by Rachel Hartman
    This one will be read very soon. I just need to read Seraphina again.
  12. The Agency: Rivals in the City by Y. S. Lee
    I just got a review copy of this yesterday and I think I’ll read it either this month or April.
  13. Maya and Valko #2 by Anne Nesbet
    I had no idea this was a series until I looked it up. I have an ARC from ALA midwinter 2012. Yikes.
  14. The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle by Christopher Healy
    I want to get the third one before I read this so I can just marathon it.
  15. In the Afterlight by Alexandra Bracken
    I got this for my birthday so it hasn’t languished on my shelf for too long.
  16. Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor
    Ah, this one has been languishing. I want to read it! A lot. *shamefaced*
  17. Oona Crate Mystery #2 by Shawn Thomas Odyssey
    I have an ARC. I’ll get around to it. Eventually.
  18. The Obernewtyn Chronicles #3-5 by Isobelle Carmody
    These are huge books and that sometimes intimidates me but I am really enjoying the story so I will hopefully read them sooner rather than later.
  19. Goddess War #2 by Kendare Blake
    I hear there is a cliffhanger so I may wait until the third one is released.
  20. The Lynburn Legacy – Sarah Rees Brennan
    I now have all three and can marathon the series. Soon.
  21. Abarat #3 by Clive Barker
    I will wait for t he 4th book to come out before I read this.

Whew. That’s um 44 books on my shelves? Argh. And I have a feeling I’ve missed one or two titles but it’s okay. I think I should challenge myself to read them all this year but I know it’s not going to happen. So I’m going to read as many as I can. So many books. O.O

Do you have series that need completing? I can’t be the only one who has bought the books and not read them, right? RIGHT? Please tell me I’m not the only one.

5 thoughts on “Trilogies, Duologies, Quartets: Books I Haven’t (and need to) Read

  1. Ditto on Clariel. I’ll probably read it soon. *Glances at shelves – spots several unfinished series. Quickly ducks away.* Maybe I should post a list too. Lol. I thought I was the only one with languishing blog drafts. I actually have the first books to some of the series you’ve mentioned to read someday – Percy Jackson, Kronos Chronicles, Seven Realms and Abarat.

    Like

  2. I never could get into Percy Jackson. I read most of the first book, but didn’t really enjoy it that much. I don’t know why. I’m trying again with the Kane Chronicles. I think I like it better.

    Like

  3. 1. I’m curious what you’ll think about Clariel! I need to buy it. I’ve read it, but I have this compulsive need to own all the books in series I already own haha!
    2. I’m also curious what you’ll think about Inheritance. I stopped loving the books after book 2 I think, but I’m glad I finished the series?
    3. I need to get moving on all the other Riordan series! I know I started the Roman/Percy Jackson one, but for the life of me I can’t remember what happens haha!
    4. The Kronos Chronicles look so good! I need to read them for sure!
    5. The last two books in the Seven Realms are like 0 to 60 intense! I feel like the first two books are really good, but they lay a lot of groundwork and the plot is pretty slow paced. But then books 3 and 4 happen and it’s like AL;SDKJA;SLDKFJ ALL THE THINGS ARE HAPPENING!!!
    6. I was quite pleasantly surprised by the Vampire Academy books. I’d refused to read them for so long, but they are pretty addicting!
    7. GO READ THE LYNBURN SERIES RIGHT NOW!!!
    8. The third Abarat book was….weird. And not in a normal Clive Barker weird way…but weird. I’m not sure how I feel about it yet…I think I still gave it 5 stars on Goodreads because I am stupid at rating series haha, but….yeah. I certainly didn’t hate it, but I’m starting to worry about my blind love for this series lol

    Like

    1. 1. What did you think of Clariel? Good? And I understand the need cept when covers change for the worse such as Rachel Cohn’s Emergent series.
      4. I’ve read the first in the Kronos Chronicles and it was brilliant. I recommend it!
      5. Woohoo! I have read the first two in the Seven Realms but it’s been so long that I’ll need to reread!
      6. Thank God. I have all the books and it would have sucked if I didn’t like them.
      7. YES SIR!
      8. My love failed me a long time ago. I think he takes too long to write the books and he changes in the period between books which makes the tone of the books change and that affects the narrative…so basically, I agree with all you said.

      Like

  4. 1. I did enjoy Clariel! I didn’t love it as much as the Abhorsen series, but I think part of it comes from knowing where the character is going to end up, and I think he could have done more with that. (I don’t want to say too much because it’s kind of hard to tell what’s spoilers and not when you know the ending before you know the whole story haha). There is something that I really liked about the character, but that will have to wait until you read the book.
    8. That makes a lot of sense! It hadn’t even occurred to me that the change in feel (and feeling like the story is taking turns that I’m not positive he originally meant to/could have set up better if he did mean to) is because…well people change when there’s like SEVEN YEARS between books! And here we are heading into year 4 of waiting for the fourth book…

    Like

Leave a Reply

