reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

I love doing reading forecasts because they make me aware of how much I’m reading a week and what I’m reading because honestly, sometimes I just go into a whirlwind crazy spree where I consume words by the thousands and all stories and worlds bleed into one. It’s one of those things. But I’m trying to be an adult (and failing quite spectacularly, I may add) so I’m trying to be more restrained in my wordy gluttony. I think. No, what I mean is that I’m trying to savour more and inhale less. Sometimes I succeed, other times I don’t. As long as I don’t run out of books, it’s all good.

Okay, now on to the books I read last week:

  1. Thorn Jack by Katherine Harbour
    I liked this one with some reservations.
  2. A Teacup Collection by Molly Hatch
    I will be reviewing this one the blog later this week.
  3. The Ugly One by Leanne Statland Ellis
    A review of this one will be up on The Book Wars in a week. I liked it.
  4. The Winner’s Crime by Marie Rutkoski
    Oh maaaan. The feels. That ending though. Whut.
  5. One Thing Stolen – Beth Kephart
    This will be a difficult one to review but review it I shall next month at The Book Wars.

So not altogether a bad week for reading though I did not read as much as I could have. That’s because I spent a lot of time watching a drama which I will speak about in one of my currently watching posts sometime.

Now for what I am reading right now:

  1. Everyday Sexism by Laura Bates
    I made some headway in this but damnit, the book is so difficult to read. All the women going through such abuse make me so angry. Intentional and deliberate exclusion of women on all levels of professional life, sexual abuse is normalized, girls in uniforms become prey for sexual abuse. It’s just makes me angry and sad.
  2. Gretel and the Dark by Eliza Granville
    Ah this book is so beautifully done. I’m about 162 pages in and I have no idea how the two narratives that are so disconnected initially will come together but I can’t wait to find out.

Now for the books I want to read in the coming week:

  1. I want to start Lady Chatterely’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence. I probably won’t finish it this week but I have to get it done before March is done.
  2. The Sculptor by Scott McCloud
    This is a graphic novel so despite it’s chunky size, it won’t take me too long to read. It’s blurbed by Neil Gaiman who calls it the best graphic novel he has read in years.
  3. Soulprint by Megan Miranda
    My fourth Miranda book and I only liked the first one. I’ll give this one a hundred pages to grab me.
  4. Infinite by Jodi Meadows
    This will need to be read so it can go back to the library.
One thought on “The Reading Forecast

  1. Wow I wish I could read at the speed you do ! Jodi Meadows came to my city with some other authors and I got her book since I got everyone else’s and I just kind of put it aside. I actually started reading it the other day and it has such a high concept, I’m mad I didn’t pick it up earlier. Happy Reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

