reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

Oh Monday, how you pop up uninvited. But well, a new week means new chances to read so I’ll forgive you your impudence. Here are the books I read last week:

  1. Dreamer’s Pool by Juliet Marillier
    I quite liked this one. It was a crime novel high fantasy style. Though the plot was a little bit ridiculous. Oh well. I’m not sure whether I’ll be continuing this series though.
  2. The Princess in the Opal Mask by Jenny Lundquist
    I liked this well enough. 3 stars from me. But it didn’t impress me enough for me to want to read the next one in the trilogy I believe.
  3. Dengeki Daisy vol. 12-16 – Kyousuke Motomi
    And so it ends. This manga was quite enjoyable, very much on the action side. And rather pure where the romance is concerned. I enjoyed it.
  4. The Rabbit Back Literature Society – Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen
    This was brilliant. I loved it. Read my review of it.
  5. Here by Richard Maguire
    This was an interesting book. The artist focused on spot and limned the various things that had happened in that spot (most usually the living room of a house) over thousands of years.
  6. The Somnambulist by Essie Fox
    This was a problematic one for me. The narrative included a rape that was never addressed and well, I cannot countenance that.
  7. Life. Love. Beauty. – Keegan Allen
    Review soon.
  8. Save Yourself (Princeless vol. 1) – Jeremy Whitley
    Brilliant. Subversive.
  9. The Water and the Wild by K. E. Ormsbee
    Fantastic. I loved it a lot.

Currently Reading:

I’m still chugging away at Every Day is for the Thief by Teju Cole but I think I should be able to finish this week. I’m not enjoying it very much to be honest. It lacks colour, passion, and poetry. It has glimmers of brilliance but it’s too dry. A more in depth review once I’m done with the book.

To Read in the Coming Week

  1. A Cold Legacy by Meghan Shepherd
    I have already started to read this but put it aside because I didn’t feel it at the moment. It should be an easy read.
  2. The Tower of Ravens by Kate Forsyth
    I need to get to this before the library demands it back.
  3. Valiant by Sarah Maguire
    Review date is coming up so I need to get shuffling.

 

Leave a Reply

