Adult · Nonfiction · Photography

Review: life.love.beauty by Keegan Allen

22293533

Hardcover, 320 pages
Published February 3rd 2015 by St. Martin’s Press
Source: Publisher (but I actually read a finished copy out from the library)

You guys, I had no idea who Keegan Allen was (is) and the only reason I wanted to “read” this book was because I love photography books. I didn’t realize it contained his writings as well. I don’t have too much to say about the book, to be honest.

I enjoyed the pictures he took. They present an intriguing life into his life and personality. I enjoyed the evidence of the camaraderie that exists between his and his fellow actors. I liked the moods evoked by his pictures.

As for his writing, they were okay. I mean, they felt really personal and (don’t hate me) sometimes I felt like they were diary entries that should have remained as diary entries. Still, he has a turn of phrase that I sometimes liked. He clearly loves his craft and spends a lot of time honing it.

As someone who doesn’t watch the TV show or is not well acquainted with any of Allen’s works, I enjoyed the book for what it presented: a disarming look into his life and personality.

Leave a Reply

