reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

This last reading week wasn’t too great reading wise because my friend Yash got me writing again and when I’m writing, I’m usually spending more time on my own story, in my own world even when I’m not actually writing. I basically sit quietly and plot. Haha. Plus, I’ve been having fun doing other things and not feeling like reading. I think it’s because I finished Dreams of Gods and Monsters which was just such a perfect book. I wanted to savour the experience, let it linger. But enough talk. Here’s what I read last week:

  1. Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor
    This was so perfect that everything Taylor writes from now on is going to be on auto-buy from me. Because seriously.
  2. Rat Queens vol. 1: Sass and Sorcery by Kurtis Wiebe
    So funny. I really enjoyed this one.
  3. The Tapper Twins Go to War by Geoff Rodkey
    I enjoyed this quite a bit.
  4. Auto Focus vol. 1-5 by Aya Roppongi
    Roppongi has a way of making her characters come alive that I really envy. Her art is brilliant.
  5. Postcards from Ex-Lovers by Jo-Anne Elder
    This was okay. A lot of the time I wasn’t sure who she was addressing and whether each vignette was linked to the other. Not a huge fan.
  6. You Do Understand by Andrej Blatnik
    My first piece of Slovenian fiction and one I enjoyed very much. It was really fun to read these short, pithy vignettes that packed a punch.
  7. Crimson Bound by Rosamund Hodge
    I enjoyed this one very much. There shall be a review of it on The Book Wars soon.

I could have easily read one or two more titles but I just didn’t feel like it. Ah well.

Currently Reading:

  1. 420 Characters by Lou Beach
    This book is made of short stories that were initially Facebook statuses limited to 420 characters.
  2. And Still I Rise by Maya Angelous
    I just started this and of course read the titular poem first. It is just as good as her performance of it makes it sound.

To Read in the Coming Week

I’m not sure how many books I’ll get through but these are the ones I’m going to be aiming to read:

  1. The Last Time We Said Goodbye by Cynthia Hand
    It’s from the library and other people are waiting so I may as well read it fast.
  2. Death Marked by Leah Cypess
    Same reason as above.
  3. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
    This will be a reread as I want to do a post on it for The Book Wars.
Leave a Reply

