reading forecast

The Reading Forecast

It’s a new week! Full of new possibilities and new books (and old favourites) to read and read. So I’ve been writing a lot which means I haven’t been reading too much. Of course when I say not reading, I’m still probably reading more than other people. Here at the books I did read last week:

  1. And Still I Rise by Maya Angelou
    So wonderful. Her words, the feelings, everything. This was pretty much perfect for me.
  2. This Shattered World by Amie Kaufman and Megan Spooner
    A brilliant installment to the Starbound trilogy. The worldbuilding was particularly awesome.
  3. Deathmarked by Leah Cypess
    I have to admit, it took me a long while to warm up to the story. I didn’t like Ileni all that much and I’m not sure whether I’m going to continue with the series.
  4. The Life and Memoirs of Dr. Pi and Other Stories by Edgar Bayley
    This was translated from Spanish. I didn’t like the treatment of women in these stories.
  5. Bottle by Margaret Atwood
    I found this really wonderful. Short vignettes, writing exercises, dialogues, little spurts of prose. I loved them all.

Currently Reading

  1. The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
    I am only 44 pages in but I am not really liking it at the moment. I mean, the prose is wonderfully smooth and delicious but the pacing is so slooow. A GR friend told me it’d take 300 pages for me to get into and sigh. This means it will take me a long while to read it which is not necessarily a bad thing but I had wanted to finish it before the month ended. Oh well.
  2. Visions in Silver by Anne Bishop
    I just decided to read this alongside The Luminaries. This will be a faster read and will keep me reading. Plus, the library wants it back soon so I may as well make haste.

To Read in the Coming Week:

I am not at all sure whether I’ll get much reading in the coming week but I have to read Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta. The Last Time We Say Goodbye by Cynathia Hand and A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas as the library wants them back soon as well.

2 thoughts on “The Reading Forecast

  1. I am amazed by how much reading you get done alongside with writing. I am ashamed to admit that I have yet to read both Atwood and Angelou, but hopefully I’ll get to read works by the both sometime in the future. I guess the Starbound trilogy goes onto my wish list again after reading this, I recently removed the first book on Goodreads because of some friends meh reviews.

    Can’t wait to see more sneak peeks from your manuscript, consider yourself blog stalked by me :D

    Like

    1. Thank you! I didn’t have a choice with Atwood, tbh. Being Canadian, I was forced to read some of her works for the obligatory CanLit courses I had to take. Angelou is amazing. I read I Know Why The Caged Bird Sings when I was still very young and I don’t remember much of it (apart from that certain awe that comes from reading good writing).

      I really liked Starcrossed books. It has really solid writing and worldbuilding and I like how the romance is pared down to make way for more interesting things in the second book. Even in the first one, the romance did take centre stage but for someone who is allergic to mush to actually really like the novel anyway, I’d say that says good things about it.

      Thank you so much for liking my work (and saying so). All the rejections get me down and make me unsure about my own talents (and I definitely have a LOT to learn) so any little encouragement is helpful. I shall be posting excerpts on and off in the next few weeks because why not? ^_____^

      Like

Leave a Reply

