Reading Report

Reading Diversely

I have made it a goal of sorts to read as diversely as I can this year. I mean, I always try to read diversely but this year I’ve made more of an effort to be aware of the books I’m reading, the authors who have written them and the characters who are being written about. So this post is, in sorts, a report on my reading thus far.

I recently read Exquisite Corpse by Penelope Bagieu, a French artist and writer. I enjoyed the title a lot and will review it on The Book Wars. I also read The Life and Memoirs of Dr. Pi and Other Stories by Edgar Bayley, an Argentinian writer, which was translated from Spanish. I didn’t like it all that much. I also finally devoured a volume of poetry, And Still I Rise by Maya Angelou which was amazing. I experienced my first Slovenian literature in the form of a collection of vignettes called You Do Understand by Andrej Blatnik. I thoroughly enjoyed this.

I read and reviewed Every Day is for the Thief by Teju Cole, a Nigerian writer based in America. I liked this volume but didn’t love it. I read and adored The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari Jaaskelainen, a Finnish author. It was stupendous and I have reviewed it here. Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress is also a title that I liked. It’s by Dai Sijie who is of Chinese descent but who wrote the book in French. I finally read a title by the Portuguese writer, Jose Saramago, called The Elephant’s Journey. My mother and I actually read this together though I finished first and we both quite enjoyed this slim volume.

I also read a couple of middlegrade books that were written by Western writers but that concerned diverse characters and places. This included The Ugly One by Leanne Statland Ellis, a story about a girl set in Machu Picchu, and The Vine Basket by Josanne La Valley, a story about the Uyghur people. I also read the adorable picturebook I Will Fight Monsters For You by Santi Balmes and Lyona, originally written in Spanish. I read and loathed A Bollywood Affair by Sonali Devi. Ha. Conversely, I read and loved We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie.

I’ve done pretty well for the first four months of the year, I think. Is your reading diverse?

One thought on “Reading Diversely

Leave a Reply

