comics · review · Review Copy

Moomin: The Deluxe Anniversary Edition by Tove Jansson

21432758

Hardcover, 448 pages
Published October 21st 2014 by Drawn and Quarterly
Source: Raincoast Books

If you’re not familiar with Moomin, it is a comic strip created by Finnish author and illustrator Tove Jansson, originally published in Swedish. Even though I had heard of Moomin before, I hadn’t read any of the strips so when I got the chance to review this version, I jumped at it. The anniversary edition is gorgeous. It’s oversized and comes with a slipcase and a ribbon bookmark. The paper quality is high and the book is skillfully bound. I could go on for ages on the aesthetic appeal of this edition.

The content is amusing. It took me a while to get used to Moomin and company and their antics but once I did, I was hooked. There’s a certain innocence to the strips that I have read that charmed me. If you are already a fan of the comic, then this edition will be a wonderful addition to your collection. It’ll also make an amazing gift for a Moomin fan.

MoominJournal

2 thoughts on “Moomin: The Deluxe Anniversary Edition by Tove Jansson

Leave a Reply

